Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 8, 2012, 12:00 PM
Rookie

Default Daytrader CPU problems

Hi, I am new to site and compared to site users somewhat tech un-savvy. I read a prior post regarding CPU requirements for stock trading platforms but it did not quite seem to apply. I have two computers. One is dedicated to the trading platform. Platform requirements are 1 GB, 500 MB min. I have a Pentium 4 2.93 GHZ, 2.5 GB RAM. So I should have enough. My Norton 360 alert comes up several times a day saying " High CPU usage, 99%. Additionally the stock prices will freeze which makes it hard to know whether you have hit a sell or buy point.. I had this trading program on another computer, a laptop, and the trading platform would shut down several times a day if I had other processes running, i.e. news sources or research web-sites. The laptop had 3GB RAM. So what is going on. The trading platform people say it is my cable company. Or do I just need a lot more RAM?

Last edited by Griffy58; October 8, 2012 at 12:06 PM.
Old October 8, 2012, 01:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

The RAM is not your only issue : that Norton thing is not a good idea to run in real time because it takes resources your computer does not have : Pentium 4 @ 2.93 GHz? Are you kidding me? Get yourself a tri core or quad core, any older Core 2 quad, AMD Athlon II X4/X3, Phenom II X4 should do the job right, you need processing power too, not just RAM. If you use Win XP that is fine to keep it at 2GB RAM, if you use Vista / 7 I would stay at 4 GB. That Norton software takes processing cycles which your single core with Hyper-threading, Pentium 4 does not have, despite running at almost 3 GHz. Upgrade to a cheap tri/quad core and you will see night to day difference. When you have that hardware you might want to keep Norton turned on, otherwise close it in the mean time and do just a manual scan daily if you want to.