Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 7, 2012, 03:58 AM
Rookie

Post Need help in choosing a good motherboard.

I am a newbie in building pc so I need your help guys.

I have i5-3570k and HD7870. I will not go for crossfire but still want to overclock my cpu and v-card and get the most out of them.

Thanks a lot in advance for those who will help me
Old October 7, 2012, 05:54 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

You can overclock a video card on any motherboard that you can mount the card on.
I'm not sure of your budget, but an inexpensive one is here: Newegg.ca - MSI Z77A-G43 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
Looks like you can get a modest OC out of it - MSI Z77A-G43 Test Setup | bit-tech.net

The next step up (in terms of overclocking potential) would be something like ASUS's PRO range: Newegg.ca - ASUS P8Z77-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Assuming you're not going nuts with below-ambient cooling, you'd likely be able to max your CPU's overclock on such a board.

Any higher than ~$200ish and you're looking at boards that cost more because they're designed for more than two video cards, lots of USB 3.0 ports, and similar bells and whistles.

Of course overclocking is not guaranteed no matter how high you go with the motherboard, but those are some ideas.
Old October 7, 2012, 06:52 AM
Rookie

Thanks a lot for your help, I guess I will go for Asus.
Old October 7, 2012, 07:49 AM
Top Prospect
F@H

My System Specs

I would also recommend the Asus matx boards as well if you are not going crossfire. Specifically the Maximus V Gene. It will give you all the bells and overclocking whistles you want and keeps the budget from getting out of hand. I have my 2700k "gently" overclocking 4.2 with no voltage increase at all. It also has one of the best on board audio systems I have ever heard.