Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 08:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Default Random fps dips

Really need some help here, I'm not sure whats happening.

Firstly, my rig:

CPU: i7 3770k - Cooled with H100 OC @ 4.2Ghz
GPU: AMD Radeon 7970 Gigabyte OC 1Ghz (Factory OC)
16G 1666 Corsair Vengence.
Motherboard: Msi G45
Power Supply: Corsair TX 750
120G Mushkin Chronos SSD
1TB WD Caviar Black

I've been playing games perfectly fine, some good frames, solid frames. But Whenever I run fraps, it will run for a while, and then suddenly drop to 30FPS..and stop there. And doesn't go back up, only when I stop fraps. Very strange.

Also, when I playback footage it looks laggy.

I've tried running fraps 1080p 30fps and half frame 720p 30fps - No changes between the two.

I have no idea whats causing the problem and there for didn't know where to post this thread =(

Whilst writing this I thought to myself: My motherboards default Ram clock is 1333, but i've overclocked manually to 1666 instead of using XMP. Maybe this is causing problems?


I have no idea. But to sum up. Drop to 30fps when running fraps. Laggy video playback of recorded vidoes.

Could say it was fraps, but why would that cause problems? :-/

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 4, 2012, 09:00 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,538

My System Specs

Default

1: Use XMP
2: Is this while you're recording? If so don't record to the same drive the game is installed on, and make sure you're recording at 50FPS in fraps and not 30.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 07:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Default

Thankyou:) Why should you record to a different drive btw?:) And yes it is while im recording.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 01:30 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,538

My System Specs

Default

Fraps records at a very high bitrate, thus stressing out your HDD and slowing down anything else thats running on the drive at the same time.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 12:42 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 310

My System Specs

Default

Is V Sync on? Games locked and running at 60 fps, then fraps begins recording at 30 fps, leaving you 30 fps in game possibly.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2012, 01:33 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Fraps records at a very high bitrate, thus stressing out your HDD and slowing down anything else thats running on the drive at the same time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvl89 View Post
Thankyou:) Why should you record to a different drive btw?:) And yes it is while im recording.

Thanks
As super pointed out .... its a VERY intense program + it buffers what your recording ...

Myself I do record to a secondary physical hard disc while my main programs are on my cronos deluxe & set the custom level for 420 fps, full screen & no audio which helps if your not looking to use the ingame sounds anyways which will keep the output files size down ... ex @ 120 fps 3-4 minutes might generate a 4-6 gig file ... add multi channel sound to that & your looking 12-14 gig file.

Also as the fraps program indicates .. the higher capasity/bandwidth the recording drive is the higher the quality/framerates your capture will be ..... here is 1 of my video's that i put on utube that was based on no audio but 120 fps capturing, make shure to view it in full HD mode to see what I mean:

Combat Arms on high end system (AMD) (HD) - YouTube

So, i'd firmly advise picking up a Sata6 based ssd or hard drive as your recording drive ..... probly another cronos 120 would give you at least up to 30 minutes of raw video/audio capture @ highest possible fps, or if you grab a 2-3 TB Cavier black or latest seagate baricuda based on tb platters ... you'll be able to get longer captures ... but at lower fps/quality ususaly.

So, my advise is again, set your fraps to capture @ 2-4x the fps your looking to get (420 gurentee's you should be getting minumaly 60 fps output files) also try 1/2 screen & no audio ... ohhh & forgot the ovious make a capture folder on your wd cavier black to record to ..... if that works, then try full screen & ect.

hope that helps you some.

Last edited by terrybear; October 6, 2012 at 01:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
not PS, but now random restarts ? terrybear Troubleshooting 24 September 15, 2012 07:42 PM
Random deaths Ordinator Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 March 7, 2009 10:35 PM
random crashes tom.mullie Troubleshooting 14 November 23, 2008 06:20 AM
Random Lag Infiniti Gaming 10 September 4, 2008 03:28 PM
random ram? Tazer-[X] RAM 3 August 26, 2008 07:15 PM