Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 08:06 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

Thx for the advice, always do when I get new hardware and the FM1 was very finicky as well.

I'm sure the 7Ghz was on LN2, FM1 could do 6 under LN2, and 1Ghz increase with an APU onboard would be very interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 08:22 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
The trinitys are using new motherboards or something?
Ya, new socket, new chipset.... Actually quite a few people (including myself) are a little upset that they decided on a socket change this gen.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 08:43 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Ya, new socket, new chipset.... Actually quite a few people (including myself) are a little upset that they decided on a socket change this gen.
Yes it kinda stinks like the s754 to s939 incident ... BUT amd's doing like it back then FM2 will be suported for 2 more gens of A series cpu's ...

And quite honestly, with alot of these FMx series boards price points .... IF they where $150+ boards like the AM3+'s I think i'd be more pissed off about it yes ... but i seen a msi FM2 board on ncix i believe for $50.

This is why I told folks whom posted on here recently about FM1 builds to wait for the FM2 boards & cpu's this month.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 08:57 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
LN2? Would have been cool if 7GHZ was on plain water. Forgive my pun.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasparthe View Post
Thx for the advice, always do when I get new hardware and the FM1 was very finicky as well.

I'm sure the 7Ghz was on LN2, FM1 could do 6 under LN2, and 1Ghz increase with an APU onboard would be very interesting.
From the 3-5 online reviews I read ... with the stock/weak included cpu cooler most of the a10 5800's hit 4.4/4.5 ghz .... but I believe in the 1 review when they stuck 1 of the copper pipped coolers from like the black edition cpu's on it it generated enough cooling to make it hit 5 ghz.

So for a $120 on average cpu to be able to hit 4.4-5ghz range with onboard gpu/apu thats not to shabby & could generate some decent preformance.

Hopefully sky in his (i asume its him doing it) review can explore maybe oc'ing it with both the stock cooler & a few others ...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 10:24 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

I'm excited to see what kind of performance increase the new architecture will give but also am pretty ticked about moving sockets. Usually there is all the usual bull about new chipset, new features, new reasons you need the socket but they are using the same chipsets, with the exception of the new A85, for socket FM2.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2012, 10:46 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrybear View Post
Hopefully sky in his (i asume its him doing it) review can explore maybe oc'ing it with both the stock cooler & a few others ...
I will be using a TRUE 120. Potential was OK on the CPU and quite good on the GPU.

One other thing I want to mention is that most boards have an issue with enabling C6 State with AMD's Overdrive utility installed. The system will refuse to boot into windows.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LANified! 12: Trinity, Calgary Oct 12-14 BloodyIron Canadian LAN Parties & Events 4 October 1, 2012 05:09 PM
AMD Trinity: Going Mobile with a New APU (Comment Thread) SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 32 May 17, 2012 03:28 AM
HP Introduces Trinity Powered Sleekbooks Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 2 May 12, 2012 06:59 AM
Trinity and Brazos are on Their Way Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 6 April 22, 2012 07:47 PM