Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 12:50 AM
J2TheROC's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunnyvale Trailer Park
Posts: 19
Default Upgrading a PC, need suggestions and more loaded questions inside!

Wassup Homies!
J-Rock gots another problem, and needs mah peeps to help me out knowwhaddimsayin?

===The Upgrade======
Budget $1000 after tax

Asus P5K/EPU Socket 775 Intel P35 ICH9 Chipset - $144.99
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - $238.99
Sapphire ATI RADEON HD 3870 512MB GDDR4 - $181.99
Mushkin (550150) XP-650W Peak 750W ATX - $109.99
Mushkin HP2 6400 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800 5-4-4-12 (1.8V) - $105.99

Zalman CNPS-8700 -$58.99


Questions
1.)Is there a better cpu cooler that is not too big? Suggestions? I want to try and OC the proc to 3.0ghz (if im lucky)
2.)What is running a system in 1:1 configuration? Does it mean FSB and ram speed have to run at the same speed?
3.)The power supply is listed at 650w what does the 750w stand for? IS the power sufficient?( I might put in a card with power consumption like the 8800gtx ultra in there one day) Other components I have are 2 dvd writers/1 sata hd/2 80mm fans/1 pci soundcard/ 6 usb devices and a tv tuner.

4.)Is the mobo's version of crossfire fine for the video card? and how does mixing and matching work? could I mix the 3870 with a preexisiting 1900xt?



I plan to use this comp mostly for doing 3d modelling/video encoding
and some high end gaming (Supreme Commander/ Crysis / TF2) Do I really need to OC to 3.0ghz from the stock 2.4? how much performance increase would I see?


Thanks y'all
Happy belated 420!

Last edited by J2TheROC; April 21, 2008 at 12:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 01:08 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

Dude, you can get 3.0 easily on the stock heatsink. If you are going for MAX overclock, ditch that Zalman and get a Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme.... or TRUE as we call it round these parts. Why dont you want a big honking CPU cooler? As we all know, bigger is better....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 01:30 AM
J2TheROC's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunnyvale Trailer Park
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Dude, you can get 3.0 easily on the stock heatsink. If you are going for MAX overclock, ditch that Zalman and get a Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme.... or TRUE as we call it round these parts. Why dont you want a big honking CPU cooler? As we all know, bigger is better....

Thx for replying so quickly, well I heard that even though you can get 3.0 easily.. It still gets pretty hot, so I wanna keep it at low temps. As for the bigger is better remark.. My case says no.. :P

* Also isn't it true that it might not always easily OC?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 01:36 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

I'm pretty sure even the Worst Q6600's should be able to get 3.2 easily, with no more than 1.4V. A decent CPU cooler should be able to keep it at bay. Stay below 65 degrees and you should be good to go. If you want something a little smaller, go for the Thermalright Ultima 90. It's like the TRUE's little sister. but really butch.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 03:38 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
2.)What is running a system in 1:1 configuration? Does it mean FSB and ram speed have to run at the same speed?
1:1 is indeed running FSB and the ram speed at the same speed. Keep in mind that unlike AMD processor chipsets, ram on an Intel processor chipset cannot be run at a speed lower than 1:1, thus if your FSB is 400, the lowest you can run your ram would be DDR2 800 speeds. (This is why I recommend folks look at PC2 8000 or PC2 8500 memory if they plan to overclock).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 05:24 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

1. Better HSF? Yes. What's your case? Like the Cptn. said, the TRUE is the best out there.
2. What Mr. Wilson wrote.
3. The PSU is fine for your proposed setup - if you do go for an Ultra, it may not be enough.
4. I think you cannot Crossfire the old ATI cards with the newer ones. I don't know much about SLI - Crossfire, since I've always put my money on one single card.

And one more comment: I had to read your first sentence 3 times before I could understand it. Please try to write proerly next time, if you're asking for help and our opinion.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 04:28 PM
J2TheROC's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunnyvale Trailer Park
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks to all the people who replied thus far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
1. Better HSF? Yes. What's your case? Like the Cptn. said, the TRUE is the best out there.

And one more comment: I had to read your first sentence 3 times before I could understand it. Please try to write proerly next time, if you're asking for help and our opinion.
Haha yeah, I'll try to stop typing like that. Force of Habit! sorry!

I did some reasearch on the TRUE and it seems like it IS the best, but I probably wont be needing it for a mild OC.. Plus it seems pretty heavy.

Can you please give me a suggestion from any of the ones listed here?
Canada Computers - Your Neighbourhood Computer Store and Service Centre - PC Systems and Hardware Components, Notebooks, Electronics, and more.

Zalmann is overratted right?
How about a thermal take one? my price range for a cpu cooler would be around 50-60 bucks

I wont get it from (dont ask)
NCIX
DirectCanada
TigerDirect

so yeah only from the site given above please! thanks!

What kind of case do I have? Some noname case :P next time ill go with something from Antec, but this gets the job done since it's in the basement.

Also you know how each fan is rated for a certain number of hours? what happens after that avg amount of hours is hit.. will the fan just cease to work? or just lose its effectiveness? POint im trying to make is.. I dont want the fan to just die on my one day and bam there goes my CPU!
--------------

As for the PSU the way it is written 650w peak 750w... does that mean it can handle 750w when at full load?

Also I ran the system specs through a online power supply calculator, and with an 8800 Ultra just for the hell of it. The recommended PSU wattage is 448W but this is at 90% system load and 85% TDP( I dont know how realistic this is)


------------
TO SSWILSON
As for running the system in 1:1 configuration. Can I have a q6600 @ 3ghz with fsb of 1066 and have my ram oc'd to 1066? does this mean I should go with 533mhz? instead of the 800mhz? im kind of confused here. Please have patience and explain it to me :P
----------

Also Is the mobo im choosing considered to be a good mobo? or is it an economy value class mobo?

As I've heard that the middle/low class Asus mobos are really shitty, but the high end ones are top notch.


These are pictures of my crummy no name brand case. As you can see it is cluttered and everything is a tight fit, especially since there is a side case fan, i dont think a big cpu cooler will fit properly.
Attached Images
   

Last edited by J2TheROC; April 21, 2008 at 04:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2008, 04:41 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

If you're going for a single GPU solution, then ditch the Asus board and go for the Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L. You'll love that little board with a Quad - I know, I did... and that 650W PSU will be plenty powerful. For the HSF, you wish to air cool a Quad. Go for the TRUE. Believe me.

Fans... don't worry about the MTBF. You'll change them fans 5 times before you reach that MTBF. Not because they failed, but simply because you will want to change them...

Running Ram 1:1. If you are selecting 400Mhz FSB, that means the Quad will run at 3.6Ghz (9x 400); if you select DDR2-800 ram like you did (great choice BTW), then the sticks will also run at 400MHz, hence the 1:1 ratio.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 12:07 AM
J2TheROC's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunnyvale Trailer Park
Posts: 19
Default

Hi y'all, thanks for all your help. I have been reading ocing guides and am more confident now. I was wondering if anybody would be willing to help/mentor/make sure i dont screw up o'cing/lapping over live feed from my webcam/mic over msn on the day i build my pc. It would be anytime during May 8th at your convienience.


Thanks!

Also just a side question, If im not going for vista right away. Could someone recommend me a cheaper video card that would have the same or better dx9 performance as the 3870?


looking for something on the level of a 1950xtx in dx9 performance... but unfortunetly that card still goes for quite the pretty penny.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 01:21 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J2TheROC View Post
Hi y'all, thanks for all your help. I have been reading ocing guides and am more confident now. I was wondering if anybody would be willing to help/mentor/make sure i dont screw up o'cing/lapping over live feed from my webcam/mic over msn on the day i build my pc. It would be anytime during May 8th at your convienience.


Thanks!

Also just a side question, If im not going for vista right away. Could someone recommend me a cheaper video card that would have the same or better dx9 performance as the 3870?


looking for something on the level of a 1950xtx in dx9 performance... but unfortunetly that card still goes for quite the pretty penny.
You're probably not gonna get a card that is as fast or faster than the 3870 for less money... and by limiting us to one store, it makes it that much harder. Although not a lot cheaper than a 3870, a 3850 will nicely outperform a 1950XTX Read Here. Once again... from Canada Computers, there's only one Here available... and it's walk-in purchase only. It also has a PITA M.I.R. attached to it, so you'll have to dole out the bucks initially. There are GeForce 9600GT's, but they're in the 3870's price range. The good thing about getting a 3850 now, is that you can X-Fire a 3870 with it later on..if/when you want more performance. GL
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes