Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 04:12 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,076

My System Specs

Default

Since you mentioned that the TRUE won't fit, one that is smaller that works great on my q6600 is the arctic cooling freezer pro 7. I have my q6600 running at 3.0GHz and it keeps my mine nice and cool.

@sswilson
You can run the memory at less than 1:1 with an Intel chip, well at least with my board. I have the Asus P5N-E SLI and I have the option to run the ram linked to the FSB or unlinked. When it is linked I have various settings for the ram, such as sync mode, 3:2, 5:4, and 1:1. Unlinked of course means you can set the ram totally independent of the FSB. Just not sure if those options are available on the board he is considering getting.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 07:05 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,635

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Since you mentioned that the TRUE won't fit, one that is smaller that works great on my q6600 is the arctic cooling freezer pro 7. I have my q6600 running at 3.0GHz and it keeps my mine nice and cool.

@sswilson
You can run the memory at less than 1:1 with an Intel chip, well at least with my board. I have the Asus P5N-E SLI and I have the option to run the ram linked to the FSB or unlinked. When it is linked I have various settings for the ram, such as sync mode, 3:2, 5:4, and 1:1. Unlinked of course means you can set the ram totally independent of the FSB. Just not sure if those options are available on the board he is considering getting.
Yes you can do it with Nvidia chipsets, but not with intel chipsets.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 10:43 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,076

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Yes you can do it with Nvidia chipsets, but not with intel chipsets.
Makes sense, I wasn't even thinking about that. Not to mention now I read what you wrote and see that you did say chipset in there. Well thats what happens at 5am, just too early to read.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 11:12 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

I used to have that same case! Made carrying it around nice and easy
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes