Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2012, 07:58 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raviolissimo View Post
i have one more shot, this year, at the license authorization.

after that, there's a lot more paperwork to jump through. Autodesk doesn't let you re-install their software ad infinitum.


i was hoping to find another XP64 user who is using a Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge, or maybe just Nehalem.

my guess is, there was a period after the Q9550 when XP64 was still being run OK. i would just like to find out, who is using what, to run their XP64 systems on.


i don't mind experimenting with the Virtual Machine, but my next install of Max 9 this year needs to be 'for sure'.


in any case, Thanks Much for the feedback so far !
The issue was that with any Windows XP OS during the install usually at the pre-install or just after it was installed the system would BSOD. The reason for this was that there was no proper AHCI/RAID support which you needed to hit F6 to install the drivers or slipstream them in.

On your VirtualMachine set the IDE controller to PIIX or whichever it is.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2012, 09:41 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,759

My System Specs

Default

I would certainly contact auto-desk for some support or advice as to how to activate the product under windows 7 as they will be able to give you a straight answer.

I would also try find some forums that specialise in the kind of software and ask for advice there.. it's so specific that you'll have much better chance of finding someone with first hand knowledge of the issues.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2012, 01:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
I would certainly contact auto-desk for some support or advice as to how to activate the product under windows 7 as they will be able to give you a straight answer.

I would also try find some forums that specialise in the kind of software and ask for advice there.. it's so specific that you'll have much better chance of finding someone with first hand knowledge of the issues.
Good suggestion, although there is some fan-boy-ism at the CGI websites - pressure to buy the most recent software revision, well, just because.


What I said about Max 9 & the applications I'm running is background info.

The main thing is, I want to run XP64 on the NEW motherboards & CPU's.

What someone said about AHCI and hitting F6 to install drivers sounds especially relevant.

I may take a second crack at it well ... when I have the extra cash for another computer. I bought the 3930K system and also bought an HP quad core laptop this year.


I have "installed" a hard drive since MFM & RLL - well maybe a little bit with SCSI systems. The last 15 years, from IDE to SATA & SATA2, they have been "Plug & Play".

XP64 doesn't support TRIM functionality so I couldn't use a Solid-State Drive - but then I have an excuse to buy the new Raptor.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2012, 04:49 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
XP64 doesn't support TRIM functionality so I couldn't use a Solid-State Drive - but then I have an excuse to buy the new Raptor.
The Crucial M4 does pretty well at garbage collection without TRIM.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 07:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
The Crucial M4 does pretty well at garbage collection without TRIM.
My somewhat simplistic impression of SSD clean-up/SysAdmin utilities (garbage collection, TRIM), is that they are sort of like old-school 'Defrag'.

If you take a 512 GB M4 and run it for a year with XP64 as the OS, using it actively, e.g. adding 1 GB of files every day, then moving them off to a mechanical drive for storage - what happens ?

Does it get hopelessly bogged down like a vintage hard drive that is nearly full, and in need of de-frag ?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 10:20 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

No. The drive will do its wear leveling and housekeeping during the periods it is sitting otherwise idle.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2012, 06:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 33
Default

Thanks again for the replies & advice.

It looks like one of the fastest motherboard/CPU combinations I can get to run XP64 and the various CAD & animation aps that I like, is the EVGA SR2 & the Xeon E5645 -

"Intel Xeon E5645 Processor 2.4 GHz 12 MB Cache Socket LGA1366"

EVGA | Products | EVGA Classified SR-2 (Super Record 2) | 270-WS-W555-A2


I ordered the Xeon from Amazon.

I started out to order the EVGA from Newegg, but their website played a dirty trick at the time of purchase.

If you have a Newegg "Preferred" account (which I'm thinking should be re-named Newegg Loan Fraud account) and amass an order over $500, you are supposed to get 12 months interest free financing.


So I did just that with the EVGA and a video card and an inverter for a solar photovoltaic system, came to about $750.

That was the way my shopping cart looked before the final "Yes Buy It" button.


Then they split the order into 2 parts, $260 for the Inverter & $490 for the motherboard & video card.

Then they sent me an email saying, "that'll be 6 months interest free." I turned around and told them to cancel everything - including my Newegg Preferred Count.


Long story short, I am in the process of buying my first system ever from Amazon, which seems wierd because I thought of them more as a book seller.

I also found an Asus M488 micro-ATX at Geeks.com. For that I just need an AMD 965, as an example, for another system that will run XP64.

Normally I don't spend this much money on computer stuff, but it looks like if I want to acquire XP64 compatible hardware, now is the time.


In the meantime, I am doubling down on Blender, learning it more so that I can be comfortable in the Linux/Open Source world in the future.

And you guys are right - if I had just 'read the instruction', I would have found that the ASRock motherboard I bought for the 3930K is not compatible with XP64 - which would have lead me to the EVGA SR2.

I always wanted the SR2 anyway


How about a smiley for "spent all my $$ on computer stuff" ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which are the best 3 Motherboard brands compatible with Intel Ivy Bridge? MSwhip CPU's and Motherboards 4 September 7, 2012 01:20 AM
USB 2.0 front ports compatible with a USB 3.0 motherboard? fruitbowl33 Cases 3 April 12, 2012 06:40 PM
HD 6870 compatible Motherboard? gamekraze CPU's and Motherboards 8 March 25, 2011 10:20 AM
Sandy Bridge motherboard compatible with windows xp? beginnerbuild CPU's and Motherboards 3 February 27, 2011 08:57 PM
Ram compatible with this motherboard? Modus RAM 7 August 26, 2010 06:08 PM