Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 10:14 AM
Roo Roo is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4
Default EEPROM burner?

Motherboard: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
I was updating my BIOS every time the new one was available. On the last update, the motherboard got bricked. Display is off, no beeps, RAM led is on. Questions:
1. Where is the BIOS chip on this motherboard?
2. Is it removable (in a socket, no soldering)?
3. Anybody in Vancouver has a device to burn a BIOS onto the chip?
4. Is "EEPROM burner" the right name for it?

Please note, the motherboard is comletely unresponsive. I cannot "try flashing again". Tried MemOK, Turbo Switch, removing RAM, disconnecting all drives, removing battery and clearing CMOS. Nothing helped. The only hope is to replace the BIOS chip (or remove and re-flash it outside of the mobo). The board and all components were working perfectly until the last BIOS update.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 10:40 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

I just pulled up a picture on the net, I can't tell if its socketed or not from the top down shot, but the bios is the chip directly above the 4 white sata ports.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 10:50 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

It appears to be a socketed 8pin DIP. Chances are there's a site that sells the chip programmed with whatever BIOS you require, I know there used to be a few years back. The prices were pretty cheap.

Chances are the BIOS chip is a serial flash, EEPROM's have kind of gone the way of the dinosaur. Programmers aren't expensive, A decent mom and pop type shop would probably have one, if they know what they're doing.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 11:03 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

I had thought that asus backs up the old bios or has a duel bios setup so that you can fix this but I am probably misunderstanding this
like just booting of of a cd that has an earlier bios ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 12:06 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

Roo got a friend have the same MB sounds a bad flash or cmos chip died

looks if its a 8pin and socketed

you can hot flash it by booting a working system (same MB) in dos and have your flasher and file ready to flash (note no drives hooked up , just basic's to boot floppy or usb)

then poop out cmos chip and note where the notch is for put a good chip in socket same way then run you flash program



if sucessful then power down and remove and replace frinds chip and take your home
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 12:09 PM
Roo Roo is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4
Default

@Shadowmeph
Yes, there is supposed to be a feature called CrashFree BIOS. Never had a chance to see it in action. Not sure how exactly it's implemented. As far as I know there is no dual BIOS. Guess the (only) BIOS that's there is supposed to be able to self-diagnose and go into re-flash if errors found. Thing is, it's completely dead. No booting from CD, nothing else. Turning PC on, display doesn't even wake up, and no beeps are coming from the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 12:13 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

roo try reseating cmos chip

you didn't say where you hang your hat, if close to me i show you what to do or buy chip already programed
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; September 6, 2012 at 12:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 01:12 PM
Roo Roo is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4
Default

@KaptCrunch
Thanks for the offer, very kind of you. But I'm in Vancouver.
Can hot flash be performed on an older MB? I've got an old PC with P4P800E-Deluxe. I'm not using it anymore, don't mind killing it.
Or, if I pull the chip from P4P800 and put it in M4A89GTD as is, would it be able to load into CrashFree?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2012, 05:04 PM
Roo Roo is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4
Default

Actually, forget it. P4P800 has a completely different BIOS chip. Looks like buying one from ASUS is the way to go. Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
asus , bios , bios crash , m4a89gtd pro/usb3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need new dvd burner? upcoast604 Storage 6 January 18, 2011 09:40 AM
External burner? sswilson Storage 14 August 21, 2009 07:51 AM
[WTB] Any 16x + DVD Burner nosebleedXD Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 22, 2009 02:49 PM
[WTB] IDE DVD-ROM or DVD burner b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 December 10, 2008 05:38 AM
Dvd Burner Mulder Storage 4 April 25, 2008 06:18 PM