Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 03:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default Is it a good time for me to upgrade?

im currently running a p55 motherboard with the first gen i5 quad core 760 6 gb ram no ssd and a gtx 570... i was considering doing a complete upgrade scrapping everything except my hard drive and graphics card. is it a good time to upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 04:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,848

My System Specs

Default

You would see an improvement upgrading, but if it was me I would oc the CPU, add an ssd and call it a day
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 04:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

It's usually a good time to upgrade if you are not satisfied with your current system's performance. If all the games you play are maxed and give you the desired FPS, then no it's not a good time to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 04:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default

yea idk there not exactly maxed my friend can hold a 60 fps strong on ultra in bf3 with the exact same graphics card while mine fluxuates and i dont play on ultra (both of us running in 1080p)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 06:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,848

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris65478 View Post
yea idk there not exactly maxed my friend can hold a 60 fps strong on ultra in bf3 with the exact same graphics card while mine fluxuates and i dont play on ultra (both of us running in 1080p)

But do you feel you are actually missing out on part of your gaming experience?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 07:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default

true, yea i guess il hold off
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 07:11 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

You should be able to overclock that cpu to 4 ghz easily (~1.28Vcore), and your gpu is only 1 gen old. It should still be more than capable to run any game at 1080P.
You won't notice much of a performance increase going from the 760 to 3570K for example. Just overclock the cpu, get an ssd as suggested, make sure your system has the latest drivers, and you should be good to go.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 04:33 PM
Brian@NCIX's Avatar
NCIX System Builder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richmond
Posts: 66

My System Specs

Default

The i5 760 is a very capable processor, even in this day and age, you are definitely not bottlenecking the GTX570's maximum performance.

Upgrading to the new gen will allow your games to load faster, but your FPS difference would be insignificant in a lot of games.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 05:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default

ive decided to just get an ssd, how would i go about transferring my windows 7 to the ssd so i can use that as my boot drive?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 07:20 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,688

My System Specs

Default

one thing to note... the i5 is dual channel(unless I'm remembering wrong) and you have 6GB ram... is that 3x2 or 2x2 and 2x1?

There are plenty of guides on how to move your os.. I would suggest a fresh install though.
Remember to change the settings in bios to AHCI for the SATA controller before you load the os..

Also remember to move the likes of your downloads folder to your storage drive.. un-necessary writes will slow down your SSD and keeping it clear of crap will help it to stay fast.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
cpu , motherboard , upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time for an Upgrade! :D Youbemoredead New Builds 14 October 13, 2011 05:21 AM
time to upgrade Lanboy New Builds 8 May 30, 2011 06:30 AM
Time to upgrade? silentfrost Video Cards 11 December 14, 2010 11:22 AM
upgrade time lcdguy CPU's and Motherboards 8 March 11, 2010 07:36 AM
Upgrade time - what to keep?? Urotsukidoji New Builds 69 November 20, 2008 03:56 PM