Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 01:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 39
Default

I was running a core duo system up until last year when I was running world of tanks at an amazing 4 fps lol.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 01:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Default

I've got a single E8400 left in my place, as my E5400 died last week. That said I've still got an old legacy dual Xeon system in my network (P4 era 2.4Ghz Dual Xeon).
__________________
We are shaped by fate, just as we shape it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 02:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

E8400 is good for 4.2ghz before gains become minimal
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 04:18 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I have an e4600 for my mom's pc. Its all you need to do email, skype, and office type applications.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 04:24 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

I have two 775 based machines still in use:
-My HTPC is a e8400 (4.2GHz) with a P5Q-PRO Turbo
-My Racing game only PC is a Q6600 (3.6GHz), 790i, GTX 570, G27 etc etc

Other then that I have a 2600K rig, wife has a 2500K rig, there is an "extra" rig consisting of a 1090T, Crosshair IV etc. Oh yes... I cannot forget my kids rig. An AMD 1800+ with 2GB DDR 400 and a 6800GT!!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 05:49 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 982
Default

I just build an i7 in the last couple weeks but up until then had a Q6600 for about 5 years or so.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 06:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 183
Default

E8400 stock clocks
gave up on oc'ing after starting uni
I think my southbridge is starting to go although =/
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 3.8GHz
Mushkin Ascent 1x2gb
Asus P5N-D
BFG Geforce 8800GT OC SLI (folding issues...)
WD 500GB
NZXT Apollo
OCZ Vendetta 2 w/ Bolt-thru kit +Scythe S-Flex F
Syncmaster T220, Razer Deathadder, Lycosa Mirror Edition, X-240 speakers
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 07:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,627

My System Specs

Default

I have a colleague at work that is running a CD2 @ 3GHz on a mobo that doesn't even have pcie 2.0. He is gaming SKYRIM on a gtx460. I transitioned to quad core (or more) AMDs around 4 years ago and never came back, but I think will get a stab at an Intel system pretty soon.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 08:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Q6600 for my htpc only cause I can't afford to upgrade
That sounds like the perfect CPU for an HTPC. Why would you need to upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2012, 09:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmo_9000 View Post
That sounds like the perfect CPU for an HTPC. Why would you need to upgrade?
You'd be right but newer i3's are cooler running and less power hungry.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU running way too hot guster11 Water Cooling 19 February 7, 2012 04:03 PM
XF or SLi - What you running? rjbarker Video Cards 29 November 22, 2011 07:44 PM
HDD running very hot fire_storm New Builds 19 August 15, 2010 06:51 PM
Is my gtx 480 running hot bvsbutthd101 Video Cards 32 June 30, 2010 11:08 PM