Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 08:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Default h60 on amd 955 too warm?

So I bought an h60 for my and 955 over clocked to 4.0ghz 1.45v sitting in a 600t. When playing bf3 or stress testing, my cpu goes up to 60c tops. Idle is 41c. My PC doesn't crash or freeze but I'm concerned that its too warm. The h60 is in a exhaust setup. I'm wondering if the CM212 might be a better bet. Can you guys give me some insight on this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 08:28 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Those are very good temperatures for the clock speeds, the suggestion i have is switch the fan around so its an intake and add a second for push/pull.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 08:35 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

What are your ambient temps? How do you have it mounted? You could replace the fan for something better.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 09:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Default

Case temps are pretty good, low 30s. The concern I had about switching to intake was bringing in more heat as it passes through the rad. I'll give it a go and use my original fan I got with the 600t for pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 09:49 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

It'll be pulling cold air from outside the case instead of warm air off your GPU, you'll also need to use 2 screws for each fan instead of 4 since the H60 only comes with 4 screws.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 11:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Default

I figured ncix might have screws but 2 is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 11:39 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,070

My System Specs

Default

I think it's a mistake having the rad fans draw air IN from outside the case. I tried both ways with the H 80, the H100 and the Antec H2 0 920 I'm using right now,and found having the fans set to exhaust ,is really the best way. Both Corsair and Antec recommend the fans exhaust rather than intake air. When they exhaust air through the rad,they also exhaust warm air from the inside of the case. The warm air from inside the case is much cooler than the liquid in the H 60 rad,thus the air exhausting from inside the case cools the rad considerably. I tried all this on three different cases I had. The Alienware Area 51 ALX,the Thermaltake Level 10 GT and the one I use now,the Thermaltake Level 10. Honestly,I have excellent CPU temps and Video cards etc. are running at low temps during lengthy gaming sessions. Installing the cooler in a manner that differs from the manufacturer recommendations, may have impact on your warranty. I don't know,I'm just saying it's possible.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 11:54 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,248

My System Specs

Default

You could also try remounting the cooler with some known good TIM.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 12:10 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

Honestly, those temps sound about as good as you'll get for that chip with that OC. I was hitting 58C with my 965 on Air with the Xigmatek Gaia SD1283 in a push-pull config and a 3.7Ghz OC.

I think that short of a custom loop, you won't see much better temps than you already have. But I think you'll be fine with 60C, as long as your CPU isn't pegged all the time. I fold with my CPU, which is why I backed it off, since it's pegged at 100% all the time.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;

Last edited by great_big_abyss; August 8, 2012 at 12:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 02:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
You could also try remounting the cooler with some known good TIM.
Yeah, I forgot I had some Artic silver 5 laying around so I tried it but no difference so I then posted on here.

Computer is running fine so if you all say 60 peak is good then im good Usually its more like 55-58 anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very warm TX750 at around half load 0o0 Power Supplies 9 December 24, 2009 07:18 PM
My new CPU seems to get warm mrlie3 Troubleshooting 7 August 4, 2007 07:00 AM