Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 06:15 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default Asus M2N32 Deluxe bios question

I want to know if anyone has ever experienced this before when overclocking with this board. Is there any documentation about the bios not mapping the correct FSB and multiplyer used because when I post a 266FSB x12 overclock the posted processor speed is actually with a 13 multiplier. To get it to post correctly I have to lower the multiplier to 11, but if I change it back it reports a posted speed with a 13 multiplier even though I am using a 12 multiplier.

This is probably due to my lack of knowledge of overclocking and a missunderstanding of FSB and multiplier combinations that work, however the strange thing is that I have been able to post with a 12 multiplier using the same the settings as before. Its very baffling one time it works and the next time it doesn't.

Thanks in advance for your comments,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 06:26 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

on Athlon 64, the goal is to acheive the highest cpu speed. on older athlon XP the goal was to acheive the highest fsb, but on athlon 64 fsb doesn't realy do a difference.

if you can acheive 266*12 and have your ram run that speedthen you're done buddy.

but remember that the HTT speed must be keep around 1000mhz, so if you're running 266mhz, you should put your HTT multi to 4 (266*4 = 1064) if your mobo change it automaticly you're OK, otherwise your rig might be instable if your HTT speed is to high (default multi for HTT = 5)
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 07:48 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
but remember that the HTT speed must be keep around 1000mhz, so if you're running 266mhz, you should put your HTT multi to 4 (266*4 = 1064) if your mobo change it automaticly you're OK, otherwise your rig might be instable if your HTT speed is to high (default multi for HTT = 5)
I had it running at that before, I lowered and FSB to 250 and put a 13 x multiplyer for effective rate of 3.25Ghz not bad for a chip that was 2.6ghz stock. The HT is running at 1000 since I mapped it at 250x4, my ram is running at a rate of 464mhz DDR2 or an effective rate of 928mhz 5-5-5-15 timings with 2.2v. Would it better to just run the ram at DDR 800 with 4-4-4-12 timings instead I can't imagine 128mhz is going to show better performance with the looser timings that I am running right now.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 08:31 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

make some benchies with everest for memory write/read/copy speed, also make sure to do some bench for memory latency.

make those with both 266 and 250mhz to see the différence.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2008, 08:47 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

I will give it try thanks for all the help.

EE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes