Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 07:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default Maximus V Formula Power

So I bought a Maximus V Formula. It should be here tomorrow. I seem to have misplaced the 4 pin power connector on my PSU so I only have the 8 pin. Is this completely necessary? Do I need to plug in both the 8 pin and the 4 pin? I'm keeping the same 2600k I have in my Maximus IV Extreme, same RAM, same everything. I plan to get a new PSU at the end of August. Can I get away with this until then? Is it safe?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2012, 09:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Found my modular cable...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2012, 04:03 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 642

My System Specs

Default

I found I could get higher stable overclocks with more power plugs plugged into the mobo.

However, I think it should be ok to run your system with a single 4 pin, but you may have to use stock clocks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2012, 03:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Default

"so I only have the 8 pin" all that is required
8 + 4 is only required for sub zero oc it seems
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maximus III formula BobbyLou CPU's and Motherboards 2 November 18, 2009 03:04 PM
Striker II Formula or Maximus Formula II trayton CPU's and Motherboards 1 August 30, 2009 03:04 PM
WTB Maximus Formula SE MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 10 July 16, 2008 02:47 PM
Dilemma DFI LP LT X48-T2R or Maximus Formula cuztomized2 CPU's and Motherboards 2 May 3, 2008 08:35 PM
maximus formula shortestraw RAM 7 April 29, 2008 08:56 AM