Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 04:54 PM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default asus x79 bios converter?

i saw this today on a random check for updates...a new bios format for asus x79 boards. it requires you to flash a converter bios first, then the new .cap format bios. the instructions (here) say its for win 8 compatibility...and the changelogs for the two new bios revisions released today just say 'improve stability' (for the rIVe, im didnt look up the other effected motherboards).

anyone tried it yet? i am tempted to dive in just out of curiosity, but i am not planning to use win 8 if i can avoid it, im not having instability (the claimed fix) and seeing two revisions in one day does not inspire confidence either.
__________________
nothing left and nothing right
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 06:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,411

My System Specs

Default

Released today, and it's more than just the standard bios flash???? I'd be staying well away from that for quite some time unless I had some pressing need to update my bios. Best to let others be the guinea pigs in a case like this. (Hell... I wait until folks start reporting benefits under normal circumstances, let alone something that's running a "converter"........ )
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2012, 08:20 PM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

yeah this definitely requires a bit of reading on my part before ill be ready to jump on it. i was hoping someone else would already know what this is all about because it came out of left for me. ill try to make some time tonight and see what i can find out. if i find anything ill report back. the rIVe has two bios chips for situations like this, but i have a feeling this converter will 'do' both of them. if i can confirm it will only do one and leave my normal one alone, ill be the guinea pig.
__________________
nothing left and nothing right
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2012, 10:03 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

I generally use a simple rule with all BIOS updates - if it currently works, don't mess with it!
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2012, 05:50 PM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

well mixed reports are coming in regarding success rates. it also updates both bios chips automatically, so there is no going back if something goes wrong. seems like a good time to start following NyteOwls advice :P (usually im quite reckless about fw/bios updates and things that 'could' break).
__________________
nothing left and nothing right
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2012, 09:37 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t0m View Post
well mixed reports are coming in regarding success rates. it also updates both bios chips automatically, so there is no going back if something goes wrong. seems like a good time to start following NyteOwls advice :P (usually im quite reckless about fw/bios updates and things that 'could' break).
Has anybody reported having their motherboard bricked?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2012, 10:11 PM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

there is a guy on ocn who says the flash failed and his r4e wont post any more. i havnt been watching the threads for the other asus x79 boards, but that was enough to give me pause. there are a few who had no problems as well.

edit - a way to flash back to an older .rom format bios was posted at the rog forums. the guy who had a bad flash/no post has not reported back yet at ocn (the link to the fix was also posted in that thread). hopefully it works.

edit 2 - the guy with the bricked board is back up and running. he had to remove all but one gpu and stick of ram from the sounds of it...but that recovery thing worked in the end.
__________________
nothing left and nothing right

Last edited by t0m; July 30, 2012 at 02:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2012, 07:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye_54 View Post
I guess I have more faith in Asus than some here. I figure they would have tested it vigorously before release. Any odd case of bricking isn't a surprise........Murphy's Law at work. I installed the conversion on my Sabertooth X-79 and it works flawlessly. The update did the covert from ROM to CAP, then installed the update to 2002. No issues to report.
It's not a lack of faith in ASUS specifically, it's a lack of faith in bios updates in general until they're proven to be useful / benign. My days of flashing to the latest and greatest (or even better... user modified bios') for anything other than an actual fix / hardware upgrade (as in a new series of procs) are done... at one time, new bios' could (and often did) add quantifiable improvements to either overclocking abilities or memory settings, I don't see that much any more so IMO the benefits just aren't there unless it's something specific in the bios upgrade that I'm looking for.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2012, 07:29 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye_54 View Post
Agreed, but whenever they mention stability improvement in the comments, I tend to upgrade it. In this case, I understood that any upcoming upgrade to Win 8 makes this BIOS change a requirement. Of course I am going to upgrade to version 8......progress! LOL BTW, I guess I am just lucky because I have never had a BIOS update go south on me.....that is about 20 computer builds with about 3 updates each, some more some less. I guess having stable underground power here helps.
I've only had one go bad, and that was the fault of the manufacturer using the same model number designation for two completely different versions of the same chipset board. OTOH, I have had a couple that needed some pretty heavy TLC to get a properly functioning bios back on.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2012, 09:59 AM
crazyea's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 160

My System Specs

Default

I updated today. No problems.

Only concern is that is shuts off for a while and you have no idea what is happening. It isnt really expalined either. The power button is disabled. I can see someone freeking out and pulling power, thus bricking the mobo.
__________________
HeatWare: CrazyEA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Asus BIOS :) DrPepper CPU's and Motherboards 15 February 15, 2011 10:43 PM
bios asus p5n73-am gingerbee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 January 16, 2010 04:12 PM
What do i need to turn off in Asus Bios Computergeek CPU's and Motherboards 5 August 28, 2008 07:40 AM
Asus 4870 Top Bios CanadaRox Video Cards 14 July 31, 2008 10:08 AM
ASUS P5N-E - Best Bios Version??? mattydies CPU's and Motherboards 4 January 30, 2008 12:45 PM