Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2012, 03:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default Need help with buying a mobo for 3x ssd in raid 0

Hi,

I am building a rig and have ordered 3 x crucial m4 128gb SSDs. I am wondering which mobo would be right for me.
I am thinking of getting the asrock z77 pro4 as it has 4x sata3 connections. Here is the problem - i dont understand raid 0 very much yet and i dont understand whether this mobo enables me to use all 3 SSDs in raid 0 configuration while also not bottlenecking the performance.

Tl;dr
3xSSD in raid 0, which mobo is right? Thinking of z77 pro4 but dont understand sata and raid 0 fully.

Thanks and hope some of you can help me :)

EDIT: as i have understood so far then i wont get a mobo like that for a decent price, so a new question arises - can i run 2x ssd in sata 3 and one in sata 2 and still have them all set up in a raid 0 config?
Ty, and sorry for bad typing, im on a tablet...

Last edited by Effective; July 15, 2012 at 03:53 PM. Reason: new info
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2012, 09:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,545

My System Specs

Default

you are already on the right track, getting a mobo with intel chipset. Issue is only 2 of the ports of sata III are on the Intel controller, the other 2 are on the ASMedia controller. You will not be able to get them all 3 in RAID 0 on the same controller, only 2 of them.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2012, 10:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 162
Default

I would suggest running a two-drive RAID 0 on that Intel chipset, or spending an extra $150+ to get a HighPoint HBA therefore allowing you to run all your drives at the specified SATA III speeds.
Make sure the drives are updated with the latest firmware before building the RAID, and grab a hard drive for back-ups, as a single drive failure in RAID 0 will lose everything.
And yes, you should have no problem running that RAID across the Intel SATA II and SATA III ports, keep in mind that the performance will be lower than that of a two-disk RAID 0 on Intel's SATA III.

Last edited by BryceBooth; August 11, 2012 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2012, 02:22 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 397

My System Specs

Default

I guess you are process oriented, not goal oriented, eh?
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2012, 02:47 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Raid 0 setup as per Linus Tech Tips

this should give you a basic understanding of raid 0 and the setup. I don't remember what motherboard he uses in the video, but it's intel so it should be similair in a Z77 board.

what about picking up a raid card?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2012, 05:12 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,545

My System Specs

Default

i think simplest way to deal with the problem would be to limit yourself to just 2 drives in raid 0 on the intel controller and use the 3rd drive for something else. Buying a professional card for RAID is another solution like LSI 9211 8i, but that would be another 250$. How about selling all the drives and getting a RevoDrive? but I think best and cheapest would be to stay with just 2 in raid 0.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2012, 10:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for all the replies

i watched almost the whole channel of linus tech tips and ncixcom and i feel much more educated :D.

I finished my rig with 2 x SSD in raid 0 SATA III and an extra hardrive i had lying around. i get read speeds of 1000mb/s :D

I looked at raid cards and the cheapest ones were 400 dollars in my country, so that's a no go.

thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
mobo , motherboard , raid 0 , ssd , z77

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching RAID Array to Another Mobo? bkh2 Storage 8 July 1, 2011 11:47 PM
Buying a RAID card doup93 Storage 3 December 3, 2010 05:09 AM
Old Raid 0 Array, new Mobo mattydies Troubleshooting 3 December 18, 2009 10:21 AM
Move RAID 0 array to new Mobo? Squeetard Storage 1 January 31, 2009 08:33 PM
FS-s939 X2-3800, OCZ ram, Ac Freezer 64 Pro, ASRock mobo, DFI mobo, Asus mobo..more stoanee Buy/Sell & Trade 14 June 7, 2008 06:24 PM