Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 11:36 AM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default Z77 boards and "Intel" Raid?

Hey guys,

Was just wondering,Ive noticed alot of the Z77 chipset boards support Raid,But a lot of them in the description do not mention if its "Intel" raid or those crappy alternative controlers.

Is all Z77 boards have Intel Raid?

This is the board im looking at.

MSI Z77A-G43 S1155

OR

Gigabyte Z77-DS3H

Would the raid on that board be good for 2x vertex 2 60gb SSDs in Raid 0?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2012, 06:41 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

It is the same basic type of RAID that Intel introduced with it's Intel Matrix Storage and now calls Rapid Storage Technology. It relies on software drivers for full functionality. You will not find a true "hardware" RAID controller on a consumer grade desktop motherboard. RAID 0 is a misnomer as there is no redundancy and actually increases the risk of data loss.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2012, 07:22 AM
Stosh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 73
Default

since many of the ssd's are already tapping out the bandwidth of sata III, I don't think doing a raid 0 would bring any benefit.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2012, 07:50 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 597

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Would the raid on that board be good for 2x vertex 2 60gb SSDs in Raid 0?
yes. I have run ssd raid 0 for some time over the past few years and I liked it a lot. there one caveat though. Until Intel RST 11.5 is released you will not have Trim support for your array. There is some good news though, it may not be that long till 11.5 comes out!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2012, 08:00 AM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 597

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
since many of the ssd's are already tapping out the bandwidth of sata III, I don't think doing a raid 0 would bring any benefit.
IMO you are way off the mark there. He is using Vertex 2 drives. There will be a large improvement for him. As well I would say that even if he was using M4's or a pair of Chronos Deluxe or Max IOPS drives there would still be an improvement by going to raid 0. Each drive may come close to saturating its own channel under unique circumstances (atto,as ssd etc testing is not real world) but that does not mean that raid 0 will show no benefits over a singe drive!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2012, 04:03 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I think the only benefit to running raid 0 with smaller capacity ssd's would be the better bang for the buck. Usually a 120GB capacity drive will cost more than 2 60GB drives combined. I can tell you that you really won't notice much of an increase in performance with raid 0 over non-raid in real world usage (sure, benchmarks will show almost a doubling in read and writes but you yourself won't really "feel" like there has been much of an increase). The near instantaneous access time won't get any faster either. I don't think that giving up TRIM is worth it for 2 ssd raid 0 as the raid volume's performance will degrade overtime without TRIM. You need 4 ssd's and a dedicated raid card for it to be worth it IMO.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2012, 06:17 PM
Stosh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
IMO you are way off the mark there. He is using Vertex 2 drives. There will be a large improvement for him. As well I would say that even if he was using M4's or a pair of Chronos Deluxe or Max IOPS drives there would still be an improvement by going to raid 0. Each drive may come close to saturating its own channel under unique circumstances (atto,as ssd etc testing is not real world) but that does not mean that raid 0 will show no benefits over a singe drive!!
well lets go over a couple of details. let me know if I error somewhere...

ok, raid 0 serves one purpose and only one purpose. faster speeds, right?

ok.

the maximum bandwidth of sata 3 is 600MB/s, which is theoretical only, since there's always some overhead.

ssd's are already in the mid to upper 500MB/s range.

so you put a pair of them, into a channel of data that maxes out at a theoretical 600MB/s... where exactly is the improvement going to come from?

I mean if it does somehow, then great. But I just don't see it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2012, 06:24 PM
wirerogue's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stosh View Post
well lets go over a couple of details. let me know if I error somewhere...

ok, raid 0 serves one purpose and only one purpose. faster speeds, right?

ok.

the maximum bandwidth of sata 3 is 600MB/s, which is theoretical only, since there's always some overhead.

ssd's are already in the mid to upper 500MB/s range.

so you put a pair of them, into a channel of data that maxes out at a theoretical 600MB/s... where exactly is the improvement going to come from?

I mean if it does somehow, then great. But I just don't see it.
2 drives and 2 sata 3 channels. you can double your numbers.

this is coming from my 4 month old, no trim, almost full raid set. not nearly what it used to be but, not too shabby either.


Last edited by wirerogue; June 26, 2012 at 12:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 01:26 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stosh View Post
well lets go over a couple of details. let me know if I error somewhere...

ok, raid 0 serves one purpose and only one purpose. faster speeds, right?

ok.

the maximum bandwidth of sata 3 is 600MB/s, which is theoretical only, since there's always some overhead.

ssd's are already in the mid to upper 500MB/s range.

so you put a pair of them, into a channel of data that maxes out at a theoretical 600MB/s... where exactly is the improvement going to come from?

I mean if it does somehow, then great. But I just don't see it.
its not a drive with two controllers inside....its two drives with their own controller on their own SATA port.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclock "diary" for my Intel DP67DE frontier204 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 January 23, 2012 04:15 AM
How do i know if my "Drive Controller" is running in "AHCI mode"? Teo3201 Storage 2 October 8, 2011 10:54 PM
Intel to Challenge iPad, Macbook Air Dominance with "Ultrabook" Notebook Category Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 7 June 4, 2011 03:24 PM
"BIOSTAR TPOWER I55 - Intel LGA1156" ROCK windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 23, 2009 11:16 AM