Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2008, 02:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Exclamation DFI LP Dk 790FX-M2RS problem

I just built a new system with the following specs:

GFX: Sapphire Radeon Hd 3870 512MB GDDR4 PCI-E Dual DVI-I Hdcp Hdmi Hdtv Out Single Slot Video Card - DirectCanada

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 3.2GHZ 2X1MB 90NM 125W Retail Box - DirectCanada

Motherboard: DFI LP Dk 790FX-M2RS AMD790FX ATX AM2+ DDR2 2PCI-E CrossFire SATA2 RAID HD Sound GBLAN Motherboard - DirectCanada

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 3.5IN 500GB SATA2 8.5MS 7200RPM 32MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive - DirectCanada

RAM: OCZ Platinum XTC PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL5-4-4-15 DDR2 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit - DirectCanada

PSU: Silverstone Zeus ST75ZF 750W ATX12V 20/24PIN Power Supply W/80MM Fan Active Pfc Quad Sli Certified - DirectCanada

CPU Heatsink: Zalman CNPS9700 LED Copper CPU Heatsink 110MM Fan LGA775 AM2 S939 1250-2800RPM 19.5-35DBA Blue LED - DirectCanada

Case fan x5: Antec TriCool 120MM Blue LED Case Fan 3PIN 4PIN W/ 3 Speed Switch - DirectCanada

CPU compound: Arctic Silver 5 HIGH-DENSITY Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound 3.5 Gram - DirectCanada

DVD: Pioneer DVR-212D Black DVD-RW 18X6X18 DVD+RW 18X8X18 Dl 10X Sata 2MB Oem Dvd Burner No Software - DirectCanada

Case: Coolermaster CM Stacker 832 EATX Black Tower Case 9X5.25 4X3.5INT No PS - DirectCanada


I haven't narrowed down the problem yet exactly but I think it's the mobo. The system will boot but it will not post. And the mobo must be getting power because all the fans connected to it turn on including the gfx card fan. It doesn't even make any sounds what so ever and the mobo has a built in buzzer and i also connected it to an external speaker but it still won't make a sound. . Ive tried switching cables on my gfx card, reseating the ram. I'm out of ideas, Someone help me please. :help:
I have also tried removing the ram completely and clearing the cmos with no prevail. I think the motherboard is fried. Is there a way I can RMA it to directcanada and just get a working mobo? I don't want an refund.

Last edited by s_8ball; April 8, 2008 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2008, 03:40 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

have you hook upo all power plug on that DFI baord?

DFI have always 2,3 even 4 power plug to hook up, if they arent all plug the board couple simply power up and not post

could also be your ram, ..... exemple : if you ram need 2.1V to work but the standard vdimm for that board is 1.9V then you ram would crash and make your board refuse to post.

try a generic stick of ram in that mobo and hook up all power plugs
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2008, 04:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Wow, I'm dumb, I forgot to plug in th 8pin power connector. LOL thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2008, 04:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s_8ball View Post
Wow, I'm dumb, I forgot to plug in th 8pin power connector. LOL thanks
Heh....

Everybody's left something unplugged at one time or another.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2008, 04:56 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s_8ball View Post
Wow, I'm dumb, I forgot to plug in th 8pin power connector. LOL thanks
im happy you didnt send it to RMA

;) hope its now working properly
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 12:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdoradz View Post
im happy you didnt send it to RMA

;) hope its now working properly
Yeap , it's workign great. Just installed windows xp pro 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 08:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 72
Default

Ebdoradz saved the day, Once again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 09:45 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

Whenever I fiddle inside my case I almost always either leave something unplugged or accidentally knock something loose, like RAM

This usually means I systematically unplug everything to decipher the problem and always find that the last thing I unplug is the problem
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes