Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: malta
Posts: 15

My System Specs

Default Asus P5QC

Hi im going to buy new drr3 ram's but im not sure what to buy.
im interested in buying 8gb but some people say that 8gb ddr3 are not supported by this mother board
thanks
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAFX
Grafics Card: Gainward gts250 1024mb ram
Ram: Corsair 4gb dominator ddr3 1333Mhz
PSU: Corsair 850tx
hdd: sata 2 500gb
mb: asus P5QC P45
CPU: intel core 2 qaud q8400 @ 2.66 Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:43 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Check the qualified memory list on the manufacturers website.
__________________

Last edited by dandelioneater; May 18, 2012 at 09:44 AM. Reason: blaargh.........
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:44 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

According to the specs ( ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS P5QC ) it will only accept 4 gig sticks so pick a set that's 2X 4G. The other question would be what OS you're running, if it's not a 64bit OS you won't be able to see/use more than your current 4gb.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: malta
Posts: 15

My System Specs

Default

i have 64 bit windows so it'll be fine
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAFX
Grafics Card: Gainward gts250 1024mb ram
Ram: Corsair 4gb dominator ddr3 1333Mhz
PSU: Corsair 850tx
hdd: sata 2 500gb
mb: asus P5QC P45
CPU: intel core 2 qaud q8400 @ 2.66 Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:50 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

QVL doesn't list any 4G sticks, but the specs state 8G max over two slots.....

Quote:
2 x DIMM, Max. 8 GB, DDR3 1333/1066/800 Non-ECC,Un-buffered Memory
4 x DIMM, max. 16GB, DDR2 1066 / 800 / 667 MHz, Non-ECC, Un-buffered memory
Dual channel memory architecture
When installing total memory of 4GB capacity or more, Windows® 32-bit operation system may only recognize less than 3GB. Hence, a total installed memory of less than 3GB is recommended
*DDR2 1066MHz DIMMs work only on the black slots for one DIMM per channel. Ensure to install the DDR2 1066MHz DIMMs ONLY on the BLACK slots!
**Refer to ASUS or this user manual for the Memory QVL(Qualified Vendors Lists).
*** When installing total memory of 4GB capacity or more, Windows® 32-bit operation system may only recognize less than 3GB. Hence, a total installed memory of less than 3GB is recommended.
That's definitely a frankenboard though with both DDR2 and DDR3. I wouldn't be surprised if you have issues getting the memory to run.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: malta
Posts: 15

My System Specs

Default

its pretty distracting 2x Dimm 8GB im confused
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAFX
Grafics Card: Gainward gts250 1024mb ram
Ram: Corsair 4gb dominator ddr3 1333Mhz
PSU: Corsair 850tx
hdd: sata 2 500gb
mb: asus P5QC P45
CPU: intel core 2 qaud q8400 @ 2.66 Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:54 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

On that board, DDR3 only has two slots while DDR2 has 4. max of 8G over 2 slots = 4G per stick.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:56 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
QVL doesn't list any 4G sticks, but the specs state 8G max over two slots.....

That's definitely a frankenboard though with both DDR2 and DDR3. I wouldn't be surprised if you have issues getting the memory to run.
According to the specs, you should be ok to run two 4GB memory modules. But it is kind of an old board so who knows how well it will play with new ddr3 modules.

Something like these may be ok.
__________________

Last edited by dandelioneater; May 18, 2012 at 09:58 AM. Reason: added something
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 09:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: malta
Posts: 15

My System Specs

Default

i already have ddr3 rams installed on the board but im not sure if it supports 4 gb sticks thats why im asking this question
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAFX
Grafics Card: Gainward gts250 1024mb ram
Ram: Corsair 4gb dominator ddr3 1333Mhz
PSU: Corsair 850tx
hdd: sata 2 500gb
mb: asus P5QC P45
CPU: intel core 2 qaud q8400 @ 2.66 Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2012, 10:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: malta
Posts: 15

My System Specs

Default

this is the QVL they have its been updated in 2008 a bit old
Attached Files
File Type: zip P5QC_QVL.zip (44.2 KB, 92 views)
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAFX
Grafics Card: Gainward gts250 1024mb ram
Ram: Corsair 4gb dominator ddr3 1333Mhz
PSU: Corsair 850tx
hdd: sata 2 500gb
mb: asus P5QC P45
CPU: intel core 2 qaud q8400 @ 2.66 Ghz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
8gb ram , asus p5qc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] ASUS P8P67 WS REVOLUTION or ASUS MAXIMUS IV EXTREME (REV 3.0) OmegaRED Buy/Sell & Trade 8 November 17, 2011 08:33 AM
ASUS p6x58D Premium versus Asus Rampage Extreme III Timid newbe New Builds 2 August 17, 2010 01:09 PM
Asus Launches ASUS VG236H 3D Ready 23" LCD FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 July 19, 2010 02:48 PM
Installing SSD & W7 (Using Asus Recovery Disc) On Asus G51J Notebooks rjbarker Mobile Computing 0 February 19, 2010 11:36 AM
ASUS Rampage Extreme or ASUS Maximus II Formula AmuseMe CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 20, 2009 09:46 AM