Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2012, 09:13 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

wow I have the voltage way to high, I thought 1.32V was stock, I thought it was strange it was only 3 clicks down from the 1.335 I was using. I'm doing some reading up on offset voltage for OCing that way so it can lower voltages when idle


Edit: I set it to 1.28V with level3 LLC, but idling in windows its at 1.30V and occasionally flickers to 1.28V I ran P95, and it dropped to 1.24V and after 1 hour was mostly 1.22V, still keep working fine till I stopped it at 1h25m. I guess I try lvl4, but I don't want it above the set voltage when its idling, maybe I should lower it to 1.26 and try again.
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p

Last edited by TedShackley; May 14, 2012 at 01:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2012, 01:26 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I would leave the LLC to Auto ,mine stays at level one with auto, but I have very little changes in voltage during Prime 95 .It only goes up by .008v
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2012, 01:47 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

When running a 24/7 overclock, doesn't one ususally turn LLC up to the highest or 2nd highest so that the Vcore will stay more or less constant under load and idle. You also disable c1e and speedstep because you can get spikes in voltage if the multi is changing with LLC high.

On the other hand if you are just bumping up the multi a bit (or bclk) and use speedstep for a more dynamic overclock, then I think a looser LLC is fine.

Is this accurate? Its what I have understood to be the the way to approach OCing and LLC
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2012, 03:44 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I leave my PC at one speed ,I disable speedstep because sometimes when playing a game and it would show a intro video it would lower my clock speed and not go back up when I needed it .Besides speedstep is really on good on laptops so you can save power.Sometines if you have it set high it will over volt your CPU to much if you are overclocking.Unless you are running a laptop I would turn speedstep off and set the LLC to auto and set it to a fixed voltage if you have that setting,it seems to keep my voltage more stable.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2600k 4.5ghz at 1.288v, temps so-so. UPDATED. See OP BukitHedd Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 21 March 18, 2012 05:56 AM
R3E 980X 4.5Ghz w/HT turtletrax Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 19, 2011 07:33 PM
2500k @ 4.5ghz - OC not showing up in CPU-Z or in BIOS? ELCID777 Troubleshooting 5 November 22, 2011 07:35 AM
i7 920 can't get past 3.5Ghz fjanicki Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 November 2, 2010 02:46 PM
Arg Can't get to 3.5Ghz !!! Tango3 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 April 17, 2009 06:42 PM