Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2008, 05:37 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

. Get the Noctua NF-p12 http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...facture=Noctua for the best and quietest of fans. I have that set up and I cant even hear it running.

As for the MX-2 not only is it better but it is a heck of a lot cheaper too http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ctic%20Cooling

Now, dont forget to price compare your system with Direct Canada too. ie. Thermalright ULTRA-120 Extreme 6 Heatpipe Cooler LGA775 Heatsink *Fan Not Included* - DirectCanada vs http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...e=thermalright

Have you considered a E8400 for a processor?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g


Last edited by CasheKicker; April 3, 2008 at 05:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2008, 06:00 PM
gimark's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

lol, I live in a small rural town in Manitoba. I doubt there are any other computer addicts like me within a hundred miles. I did build a computer for a friend around here who put in a Q6600, could use that. The board does say "The Intel® P35 Express Chipsets support the latest multi-core processors up to FSB 1333MHz, including the upcoming 45nm platform" . Got the Noctua on my cart, thanks for that information! Had actually already been price matching, but thanks for making sure I know. Makes quite a difference on the end cart almost a hundred in savings by price matching.

I did consider an e8400 but felt like stepping it up a notch with the quad core. I did notice that the e8400 was rated better for single usage (which will probably be what I'll be doing).

It looks quite a bit different then when I first started researching last week, here is the order:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 Quad Core Processor LGA775 2.66GHZ Yorkfield 1333FSB 12MB OEM No HSF
Gigabyte EP35-DS3R ATX LGA775 P35 1600OC FSB DDR2 1200OC 1PCI-E16 SATA RAID Sound GLAN Motherboard
Arctic Cooling MX-2 Thermal Compound Paste NON-ELECTRICAL Conductive 4 Gram
Thermalright ULTRA-120 Extreme 6 Heatpipe Cooler LGA775 Heatsink *Fan Not Included*
Noctua NF-P12-1300 120MM Ultra Quiet Cooling Fan 1100-1300RPM 63-92M3/H 12.6-19.8DBA Molex

Thanks again for all the quick and informative replies!

Mark
__________________

Last edited by gimark; April 3, 2008 at 07:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2008, 06:06 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

SHAAWEEEEEEEET!!! Don't forget....We want pics!!!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2008, 06:53 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimark View Post
The board does say "The Intel® P35 Express Chipsets support the latest multi-core processors up to FSB 1333MHz, including the upcoming 45nm platform" .
That is certainly true but chances are the board (if it's been sitting on a shelf for any length of time) may not have an up to date BIOS which may be needed to make the above statement true. It doesn't hurt to ask though I'm sure borrowing your friends Q6600 for a few minutes to flash it yourself would git 'er done too.

Looks like a complete order to me!
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2008, 03:26 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,521

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimark View Post
The board does say "The Intel® P35 Express Chipsets support the latest multi-core processors up to FSB 1333MHz, including the upcoming 45nm platform"
Yeah, they're able to support them, but when the P35 chipset boards were released, the full final spec for the new procs wasn't available so while they've got the ability to run the spec, all P35 boards need a bios update of some form to recognise the chips.

This is an issue with virtually all boards currently available through retail channels.

Looks like a pretty decent build you've got going there!!!!!

Edit..... What he said...... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2008, 01:11 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

I was able to boot my GA-P35-DS3L Rev 2.0 with the E8400, but the first thing I did after XP loaded was to update the bios.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2008, 07:42 PM
gimark's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

Good news is everything arrived, took tons of pics and they will be up shortly.

Bad news is its not working yet. When I hit the power it starts up and then shuts down in approximately 3 seconds. Can sure here that cpu fan go swooosh. Will keep working on it.

Mark
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2008, 10:44 AM
gimark's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

Been working on this for about 10 hours, starting to get frustrated heh. I'm not an inexperienced system builder but I've ran out of ideas (other than the mobo and/or cpu is defective) any advice I'd appreciate a lot.

I've put it back the way it was originally and that works fine, but as soon as I put on the new cpu, and mobo, it won't boot up. It starts running and then shuts down in a few seconds then it starts itself back up again and stops; it will stop doing this if I hold the power button a few seconds it shuts off and stays off.

It shouldn't be the ram, because they work on other systems without glitch, same with the psu. I'd rather not have to go through the rma process so any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Mark
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2008, 06:30 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

once you put in a new mobo.. you have to reformate.. their no option for that since it doesnt use the same chipset and you need a reformating :(

i only got lucky once.. i swapped mobo and i did'nt need to reformate..!
__________________
Main Rig
Intel Core i5 4670K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Force

Gigabyte Geforce GTX 780 3GB
2x 4GB G.Skills Trident X DD3-2400
NZXT Switch 810 Matte Black / Enermax Revolution 920W
A-DATA S510 120GB OS / A-DATA SX900 256GB Games / WD Black 1TB Misc

Canadian Eh ?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2008, 10:22 AM
gimark's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

It should still boot to bios though shouldn't it? That way I can change the settings so I can boot from the windows disk and format the old.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes