Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 03:01 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default The i7-3820 runs alot cooler then I thought it would

I finnaly put together my new CPU and motherboard .I was surprised how well it overclocks .I have not touch the voltage ,just set the multiple to 43x and it stays at 23c to 26c and when I ran prime95 51c was the highest core,on my i7-920 at 4.2g it idle at 39c and with prime95 load it would hit 85c to 88c.Ihe voltage is 1.23v at 4.3gigs I am sure I will test it out and see how far it will go ,but 4.3gigs is plenty for me right now.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 03:07 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

There's no doubt about it, it's one helluva processor, and probably a better choice than the new 3770K (high price of the X79 motherboards notwithstanding).

On a side note, I didn't think the 3820 was an 'unlocked' processor, and that you had to OC it using FSB speed.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 04:03 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

It is partialy lock ,the multipler will go up to 43x and if you want more overclocker then you can ajust front buss speed ,it has straps of 1.25x and 1.66x but the CPU will still just see 100mhz when you use them.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 04:13 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

Most 3820's will got to 4.5-4.8 as wel wont they? all thanks to that changeable base clock
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 06:19 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 693

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elmorejohn46 View Post
I finnaly put together my new CPU and motherboard .I was surprised how well it overclocks .I have not touch the voltage ,just set the multiple to 43x and it stays at 23c to 26c and when I ran prime95 51c was the highest core,on my i7-920 at 4.2g it idle at 39c and with prime95 load it would hit 85c to 88c.Ihe voltage is 1.23v at 4.3gigs I am sure I will test it out and see how far it will go ,but 4.3gigs is plenty for me right now.
Thats sick, I have been so hesitant to get into Sandy Bridge-E because of heat, you used hyper 212 eh?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 08:04 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,257

My System Specs

Default

They start getting toasty when pushing past 4.5, depending on ambient temps of course.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 10:24 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I used a Hype r212 EVO with a push -pull setup,pretty simply hookup on a ASRock Exetreme4 motherboard.Have not seen how how it will overclock yet .I was just surprise it did 4.3gigs at default voltage.I may tonight work on it and see how far it will overclock ,but like I said 4.3gigs is plenty fast enough for me.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 01:30 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I got mine to 5.3gigs at 1.425v but it was running pretty warm 48c to 50c at idle and 82c to 85c running prime95,and thats with air cooling maybe water it would have had better tempertures..Whitch I thought was a great overclock but to hot to run it at that.I am happy with 4.3gigs at default voltage of 1.23v.It is wierd how the straps work it does'nt have settings it just automanicaly if you go above 125mhz it just changes the stap to 125 so your CPU still just sees 100mhz.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 02:40 PM
BigPhatPaulie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 439

My System Specs

Default

5.3 out of a $30 4 heatpipe cooler(very good one mind you but still) my word thats one helluva chip. Corsairs h80 or 100 would probably drop that by 10 degrees at least (guestimating here)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 03:03 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPhatPaulie View Post
5.3 out of a $30 4 heatpipe cooler(very good one mind you but still) my word thats one helluva chip. Corsairs h80 or 100 would probably drop that by 10 degrees at least (guestimating here)
pretty good guestimant because i was using a v6gt and went to an h100 and dropped 12c load.i am on a phenom ii x6 at 4ghz
__________________
Amd....definitely a blond female.....not much on the cpu side, but always strutting about showing off her gpus
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer freezes alot lately, RAM or videocard? esperasoppa Troubleshooting 9 August 17, 2010 10:23 PM
noob spending alot of money, what do you think? gomer New Builds 16 April 5, 2010 10:22 PM
How hot does your GTX 260 runs? Efx Video Cards 12 December 5, 2008 03:18 PM
FS: alot of stuff rofl Spawne32 Buy/Sell & Trade 18 November 18, 2008 08:35 PM
Zoom! Airline goes poof and screws ALOT of people... TwystedMonkey Off Topic 6 August 29, 2008 07:15 PM