Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 02:28 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

5.3 that's f-ing greatman man i may grab a 2011
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 05:42 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

maybe I just got a good bin chip because it will overclock good .I may get one of those water cooler and run it at 5gigs,but still see no reason to run it that fast yet.To be honest, clocking this at 4.2gigs and running benhmarks it is only about 3% to 5% faster then my i7-920 at 4.2gigs at game relative benchmarks.But it runs them with less power and a lot lower heat.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 11:53 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 652

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elmorejohn46 View Post
maybe I just got a good bin chip because it will overclock good .I may get one of those water cooler and run it at 5gigs,but still see no reason to run it that fast yet.To be honest, clocking this at 4.2gigs and running benhmarks it is only about 3% to 5% faster then my i7-920 at 4.2gigs at game relative benchmarks.But it runs them with less power and a lot lower heat.
5.3ghz that is one sick chip!!!!!!!!! congrats man
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 01:12 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

That one looks like it would keep it cool at 5gigs ,the fans on them sound like they could be quieter ones with the same CFM,I have some Scythe SY1225SL12SH 120mm "Slipstream that put out 110CFM and they are pretty quiet.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 02:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 493
Default

son has got a new 3770 here running 4.4GHZ hyper threading enabled.
temps this am were in 72-74 range, had been priming all night.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; May 3, 2012 at 02:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2012, 09:04 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

That Antec Kuhler H20 920 looks like a good CPU water cooler .I am running my 212 EVO with push pull ,I think it may give me 1c to 2c cooler .But running at 4.3gig at stock voltage it never gets no hotter then 51c in prime95 .But if I want to run it at 5gigs I will need a water cooler because 85c is to warm for me .I could play with it some more and see what voltage I need to be stable at 5gigs.
Because when I ran it at 5.3gigs at 1.425v I di not run it long at the tempertures I was getting after 20 minutes in prime95 and it hit 85c ,I switched it back to where I had it .It should run 5gigs with a little less voltage .I really hit 5.375gigs by accident I was messing with the strap 1.25 and forgot I had set it and I was trying to figure what I wanted the voltage to be at and set my offset to high ,then I saved it out of the bios and it booted up but I got to looking at my tempertures and it was reading 48c to 50c at idle and it was showing 24c to 26c at idle and the I ran CPU-Z and seen what I had it clocked at .I was surprise I thought this chip would top out at 5gigs .I guess I just got a good chip that overclocks good.Just need a better cooler if I want to overclock it more.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer freezes alot lately, RAM or videocard? esperasoppa Troubleshooting 9 August 17, 2010 09:23 PM
noob spending alot of money, what do you think? gomer New Builds 16 April 5, 2010 09:22 PM
How hot does your GTX 260 runs? Efx Video Cards 12 December 5, 2008 02:18 PM
FS: alot of stuff rofl Spawne32 Buy/Sell & Trade 18 November 18, 2008 07:35 PM
Zoom! Airline goes poof and screws ALOT of people... TwystedMonkey Off Topic 6 August 29, 2008 06:15 PM