Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2008, 10:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default NEW BUILD ADVIce

so the E8400 are coming im ready for my new build
my budget's around 1000 1100 maximum with test

here's whats on my mind

CPU: C2D E8400
HSF: ACP7
MB: P35-DS3L or DFI LP P35_T2RS -which one would get a better OC
RAM: MUSHKIN XP2 6400 3-3-4-10 timing
PSU: CORSAIR 620W hx series
CASE: CM690
FANS: FEW 120m scythe kaze
FAN CONTROLLER: Sunbeam RHeobus
HD: SEAGATE BARRACUDA 500GIG
1 DVD lightscribe SATA
VIDEO CARD: 8800GT Evga

is there any better overclocking board?
are the ram the best for ddr 800 or should i spend on ddr 1066
i know the ram can hit 1000 mhz?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2008, 10:15 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

So far....nice build...

I personally like the DS3L a lot, but I don't know the other board....As for the RAM...go for the 1066MHz....will work better with OC'ing your stuff! Heatsink I would choose either a Noctua or the TRUE! Good Luck choosing and leave some pics!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2008, 10:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

what if i overclock my ram
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2008, 11:03 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v0maru View Post
what if i overclock my ram
Unfortunately...like many guys here will say: Buying computer hardware is like playing the lottery! Sometimes you win sometimes you loose! That means that you'll never know how good of an OC you'll get out of your 800MHz memory for example....it might be 1100MHz but it also could be 810MHz.....See what I mean? It is a guessing game.

That's why...play it safe and buy better gear....! Then you won't end up with a sad face if your can't OC your CPU because your RAM is holding you back at 855MHz!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2008, 11:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

For the HSF, you might wanna grab an Ultima-90 from NCIX as it's on sale right now. Pair it with a good fan and you're good to go. Another good choice is the Ninja Copper, but it's a tad more expensive but it already comes with a fan (but slow) and it looks cooler.

The RAM is good, as the support from Mushkin is excellent. But if you want guaranteed speeds get some Patriot Extreme Viper from NCIX, I believe same price as the XP2 but it's 1066 instead of 800.
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2008, 12:32 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

ULTIMA 90 for TRUE?
isn't true better
but fitting it is ahuge problem right?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2008, 08:13 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

The TRUE is the best out there, but it is MASSIVE.

The CM690 is a mid-size case, size may be a factor fitting this HSF in.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2008, 09:59 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default DFI ...

I personaly think you can't go wrong with the DFI... sure the gigabyte is cheaper, but it lacks a few features I find essential in its bios. And for shear overclockability, the DFI gets my vote again.

My .02
__________________


Last edited by Synth; April 1, 2008 at 11:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes