Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 08:50 PM
LMZ LMZ is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: GaTech/ATL
Posts: 4
Default Quad motherboard for Intel Xeon Westmere CPUs

Is there any quad mb like TYAN S8812 (for Opterons) for Westmere's? I have searched both forum and the Internet and could not find it. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 09:14 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

quads dont exist for the wesmere cpus as they only have 2 qpi links. Only dual sockets boards are available like the evga sr2, and tyan and supermicro have them as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 09:18 PM
LMZ LMZ is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: GaTech/ATL
Posts: 4
Default

that's unfortunate, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 09:39 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

I've only seen duals.


PS - see what happens when you get distracted before you hit submit :)
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Intel quad 775 45nm (Q9450, Q9550, Q9560 or equiv Xeon) or low vid Q6600 NaX Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 27, 2010 11:09 AM
Intel Presents 20 Threaded Westmere-EX Processor FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 June 21, 2010 04:25 PM
Intel Xeon 5600 Westmere (Regester.UK) ZZLEE Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 March 30, 2010 09:37 PM
GamePC reviews Intel Xeon E5345 and X5355 quad-core processors Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 January 5, 2007 07:28 PM