Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2012, 08:41 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default Ivy Bridge worse clocker than Sandy?

Just seen that elsewhere. Sorry if it's a repost!

Ivy Bridge gets 95W TDP, worse overclocker than Sandy Bridge - www.nordichardware.com

TDP is now 95 watts instead of 77 watts, and overclocking is 200 to 300 mhz less in capability?
Of course, IB brings a lot of little improvements here and there, and IPC are 7% higher, so it's not a catastrophe...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2012, 11:26 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I see on at least three sites saying the same thing ,This thing needs LN to cool it if you are going to overclock.This is real dissapointing.Maybe they will come out with a new stepping that does not run so hot.But right now I am glad I went ahead and bought a SAndy-Bridge.when they are talking about 95c on water cooled at 4.6gigs that is not good.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 12:35 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

damn, with my 2500K I'm at 4.6 stable and I only hit 50-60 on psudo water cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 03:31 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

That uucks if this is true ,but I have seen three sites and they all say the same ,it runs hot.even the box you show says 95w ,I thought it was going to be 77w.They were useing water cooling on them Corsair 100 and it still ran very hot 85c when overclocked.Plus the game reviews I have seen does't show it to be much faster then a sandy bridge.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 05:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,924

My System Specs

Default

This would be pretty disappointing. Could be slight issues with the 3d transistor that needs ironing out.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 05:17 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

Gotta remember not every socket can be a winner guys in every field compared to its previous generation.

Look at some of the sockets from the past, hell look at Bulldozer
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 01:54 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

LoL! Intel pulled an AMD!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 02:02 PM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

more interested if this applies to mobile ivy bridges with integrated hd 4000. im hoping its not the case as im thinking of getting an ultrabook..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 02:07 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chubaka View Post
more interested if this applies to mobile ivy bridges with integrated hd 4000. im hoping its not the case as im thinking of getting an ultrabook..
I don't believe so, Intel invest a lot in the ultrabook technology, they really want this share of the market.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 01:02 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

This isnt a shocker realy, I told peaple on here many moons ago that if they think intel's gonna be improving/getting better there not CAUSE there re-rolling the same netburst core as back in the P3 days.

Peaple may want to call AMD's latest cpu "Faildozer", but at least there trying to inovate/improve not like intel whom just redesign's/retweaks the same thing they've had for over a decade.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wait or Ivy Bridge? Or Bite the Sandy Bridge? geokilla CPU's and Motherboards 14 April 11, 2012 10:37 AM
sandy bridge E or wait for ivy bridge for 1155 gingerbee Off Topic 4 February 1, 2012 08:07 PM
[WTB] WTB: sandy bridge cpu and SSD dpk33 Buy/Sell & Trade 7 January 15, 2012 08:15 PM
should i go for sandy bridge now or wait N.E.A CPU's and Motherboards 27 February 26, 2011 11:41 PM
First build, Sandy Bridge Atmax New Builds 6 January 26, 2011 02:46 PM