Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 02:17 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

ya this sucks if totally true cause i wanted to grab one of these and running it up there in the ghz range but it looks like i wont be able to
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 02:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,481

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
ya this sucks if totally true cause i wanted to grab one of these and running it up there in the ghz range but it looks like i wont be able to
I wonder if we're not getting back into the same kind of upper clockspeed limits we hit during the P4 days. I took a lot of education to get off of the mentality that higher clock speeds always equated to better performance.

Maybe the next batch of procs (and it could be that AMD will be part of this) will be selling the idea that 1Ghz is the new 5Ghz..........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 02:40 PM
Overclocking.ca's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I wonder if we're not getting back into the same kind of upper clockspeed limits we hit during the P4 days. I took a lot of education to get off of the mentality that higher clock speeds always equated to better performance.

Maybe the next batch of procs (and it could be that AMD will be part of this) will be selling the idea that 1Ghz is the new 5Ghz..........
That's an interesting thought. I guess only time will tell. If that is the case I'm in the same boat you are having to retrain my brain.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 03:17 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,826

My System Specs

Default

oh i know that doesn't mean that i don't try to get it higher and higher anyways lol
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 05:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 9
Default

it is true,
Canada computers has the 3770 in stock, I took this pic yesterday.

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 06:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,864

My System Specs

Default

I just can't wait for more official reviews to hit the web (read this as a HWC review). I have a feeling that its not going to be much different then the other early reviews, but time will tell. Hopefully there will be another stepping in the not to distant future to tweak this rumoured step back with ivy bridge for overclocking.

I am not surprised that there are some issues though, since this is not intel's traditional "TICK" that would just be a die shrink. They have changed the GPU, die shrink, and transitioned to tri-gate transistors. That many changes are bound to have small problems that would not exist if it was purely a die shrink. I am thinking Haswell will be my next upgrade (let the bugs with tri-gate get sorted out first).
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 08:38 PM
Overclocking.ca's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

Was this in the display case?

I think I will have to stop by my local Canada Computers tomorrow and see if they have any. I know they can't sell them yet.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 09:02 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 670

My System Specs

Default

I think it's going to be fine, Intel means quality. These are just Intel haters with fake reviews lol No way at 95W its going to require watercooling for K series chips, unless something went really wrong, I don't see that happening one bit!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 09:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Overclocking.ca View Post
Was this in the display case?

I think I will have to stop by my local Canada Computers tomorrow and see if they have any. I know they can't sell them yet.
nope, I had it in my hands :) they have them in the display case on sale already, you can actually buy one, they don't have the 3770K yet, just 3770. though by now they might have realized their mistake and removed them.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2012, 10:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bananax View Post
nope, I had it in my hands :) they have them in the display case on sale already, you can actually buy one, they don't have the 3770K yet, just 3770. though by now they might have realized their mistake and removed them.
CC usually doesn't give a crap about NDA's and embargo dates. I'm surprised they're still getting stock before launch. But then again Intel is probably more annoyed with Chinese retailers/reviewers. (in Asia)
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wait or Ivy Bridge? Or Bite the Sandy Bridge? geokilla CPU's and Motherboards 14 April 11, 2012 10:37 AM
sandy bridge E or wait for ivy bridge for 1155 gingerbee Off Topic 4 February 1, 2012 08:07 PM
[WTB] WTB: sandy bridge cpu and SSD dpk33 Buy/Sell & Trade 7 January 15, 2012 08:15 PM
should i go for sandy bridge now or wait N.E.A CPU's and Motherboards 27 February 26, 2011 11:41 PM
First build, Sandy Bridge Atmax New Builds 6 January 26, 2011 02:46 PM