Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 12:00 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default Someone With A ASRock X79 and a i7-3820

I am useing windows 7 64bit and I will be installing it on a Raid-0 drive ,Two Werstern Digital Black 640gigs .Will I need to load SATA raid drivers before installing windows 7 64bit.They are SATA 3.0 ,will it be better to load the boot drive to two of the SATA 6.0 connectors ,since I also have a Blu-ray bruner and a DVD drive that I will be installing .I tought they would be better to install them on the First two connectors of the SATA 3.0 and I have two 1TB that I was going to install on the other two SATA conectors.I have Six total drives to hook up ,two which are the blu-ray and DVD and the others are four harddrives .What I don't know is which ones to make my boot drive ,the two W.D. black 640gigs in Raid-0 .Should I set them up on the SATA 3.0 or the SATA 6.0 since it just has 4 SATA 3.0 conectors and 4 SATA 6.0 connectors.I know on my i7-920 and EX58-UD5 and setting up windows 7 64bit ,I did not need to load any drivers for it to work .Any help would be appreciated.I have read the manual two or three times but it really does not make it clear to me which is the best one to use for the boot drive,the SATA 3.0 or the SATA 6.0.I have google but if you know a location that would help I would also appreciate that too.I sure I can figure it out but would like to know from someone who is running a Raid-0 as thier boot drive on a ASRock EXtreme X79 and a i7-3820.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 02:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 103

My System Specs

Default

With a mechanical hard drive it would not matter if you put it on sata 3.0 or sata 6.0 as I believe you would not even come close to sata 3.0 bandwidth with a normal hard drive. If you were using SSD's it might be a different story. I would suggest using the 3.0 just to save the 6.0 for future upgrades.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2012, 12:01 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I have plenty of SATA-6.0 ,but I am going to have to use two of them ,I know it want make any difference ,I was just wondering which one to set up my boot drive which will be a raid-0 setup.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core I7-3820 Overclocking dlactin2408 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 35 October 17, 2014 12:57 PM
That hole on the i7-3820 elmorejohn46 CPU's and Motherboards 13 December 3, 2012 08:47 PM
Intel SNB-E i7-3820 review moocow Reviews & Articles from the Web 6 April 15, 2012 03:54 AM
Intel Core i7-3820 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 45 April 8, 2012 04:27 AM
Intel I7-3820 released? dlactin2408 Press Releases & Tech News 2 February 16, 2012 08:20 AM