Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2012, 10:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 162

My System Specs

Default P8P67-PRO BIOS settings

Hi everyone,

So yeah it's been a little sice I have my new rig. Haven't played that much with the BIOS since I am running it stock. I only disabled Marvell Controllers and one other thing I can't remember to speed up the boot since I only used certain specific SATA ports.

I never looked too deeply on this screen and always kept it at "normal". What the heck is the difference with all the options? I know the little polygon graph changes and gives somewhat a good idea of the effect but at a very high level. Do you think I should put in "performance" settings? Remember, no OC, I am running stock.

__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2012, 11:40 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

I tried changing mine to performance before to see what it did and it seemed as though it changed my bus speed from 100 to 103 which then gave me a tiny over clock but I seem to recall reading we are not supposed to change the bus speed on sandy bridge chips so I put it back to normal with a manual overclock.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2012, 11:43 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

You can do a minor overclock on the bus speeds, but most systems crap out above 103 Mhz. If you had a K chip and a decent HSF, I'd tell you to try the Auto-OC funtion. On my wife's vanilla P8P67 it took her 2600K to 4.3Ghz without me touching a button.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD + BIOS Settings Reset NineLives Troubleshooting 6 May 24, 2011 03:10 PM
Is it possible to overclock without the settings in the bios? andynerd Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 June 2, 2009 08:30 PM
Memory settings in bios Jonwall CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 6, 2009 03:32 PM
Please expert help fo bios settings evzonas RAM 2 August 6, 2008 05:01 PM
780i Bios settings help please Quetz Troubleshooting 17 April 27, 2008 02:23 PM