Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 06:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default got a little problem

Bios readys cpu multipier at 8x
while cpuzid saying its 6x
i have E6750 c2d
GA-p35-ds3L
em2 555 12 m ushkin 2x1 gb
vx450w psu corsair

ect..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 07:02 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,617

My System Specs

Default

In BIOS disable CPU EIST.

Little problem solved.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 07:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,584
Default

Who cares! Leave it.

Unless you plan to overclock that thing it hurts nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 07:57 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,923

My System Specs

Default

it is something that all newer cpus have that save energy. When your CPU is idling it turns the CPU multiplier down by 2. Just use something to use up some cpu power and see if it jumps back up to 8x.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes