Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 06:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default HELP!!!

MY NEW COMPUTER BUILT TODAY NOT BOOTING UP AT ALL
I've checked every connection twice and it's still not booting at all
seems dead period
no sound no power
nothing
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 06:42 PM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

Now, I'm just trying (hard) to sound like a jackass here, but we kinda need...you know...a tad bit MORE INFO! So far all we know is that you have a new computer, and it doesn't boot, which does not help pinpoint the source, and thus leaves many paths which could lead to the fiery pits of hell which is housing your problem. XD

Bah, sorry, I've just had one of those days, but in all seriousness, what parts are you using, does the PSU power on, is anything getting power
, ext ext. The more info you can give, the easier it will be to find out the problem! :D
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 06:44 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Fans spin? HDD noises?

We need full specs to help you.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 06:46 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Crappy! What level of experience are you (just so we don't make suggestions that are insultingly obvious)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 06:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 72
Default

Do you get any sound alamrs, When my computer was not abble to post it did the infamous 'biiiip bip bip' alarm. Wich means memory problem. Turned out that the asus m2n sli deluxe is not compatible with OCZ ATI corssfire edition memory(wish i had known, the memory is for sale)!

So yes we do need more info to help you out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 07:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

no no sound no nothing
just tested the psu
works on another motherboard
i have a p35 GA DS3mobo
E6750
em2 5-5-5-12 2x1 gig ram from mushkin (1.8V)
1 dvd-combo samsung
1 dvd rom
250GIG HD SEAGATE BARRADA
could it be the pin plug ins
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 07:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

NOW The case is a elite330 from cooler master
and the pins don't give + or - could that be the reason
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 07:16 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v0maru View Post
NOW The case is a elite330 from cooler master
and the pins don't give + or - could that be the reason
Could be.

Unplug the case headers from the motherboard, and use the tip of a jeweler's screwdriver to short out the "power on" pins on the motherboard header (where your power switch jumper from the case is supposed to go).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 07:19 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Did you plug the 12V connector, the one with 2+2 pins that is located close to the CPU?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 07:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

Unplug the case headers from the motherboard, and use the tip of a jeweler's screwdriver to short out the "power on" pins on the motherboard header (where your power switch jumper from the case is supposed to go). how is this done.?/


Did you plug the 12V connector, the one with 2+2 pins that is located close to the CPU?

yes i have pluged that in
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes