Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 05:26 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default Best way to test new MBs & CPU?

OK my "new to me" hardware has arrived *big cheers*. I am wondering what's the best way to test it without installing XP with each MB? Do I need XP? Is getting to the BIOS enough to say this stuff is okee doke? I feel like a kid at xmas as I have never had multiple components to play with before.

I have read about Win PE bootable CDROM, is this a good idea? I am a bit clueless here and am doing some research online but would like to hear what you guys do for these situations.

Also, is it possible to just plop my new CPU into my current MB to test it? Will XP still boot?

Thanks! Oh in case you like to know my new goodies are...

Gigabyte MA770 DS3
Asus M2NE-SLI
AMD 5000+ BE
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 08:40 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

What do you mean test? Just ensure that everything works? If that is what you mean just put it together and boot to BIOS, as long as it posts for the most part you are good.

For changing MB on the same OS, you can do it if board is same chipset, just uninstall the sound card and wan drivers and reinstall the new ones, but it is always better to wipe OS with new board.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 09:13 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Thanks E, what I mean is I'd like to get into Windows. I know a fresh install is the best, but for testing this stuff doing a fresh install each time is just way too time consuming. Ideally if I could boot Windows from a CD or DVD that would be ideal. I have read about doing a repair install after swapping MBs but I don't want to change or possibly corrupt my original XP install. I just want to get into Windows on these boards so I know they are all honky dory.

When all is said and done I will keep the Gigabyte MB and 5000+ CPU and do a fresh install. I will sell everything else including the MB and CPU in my sig.

Am I being too anal about wanting to boot into Windows to be sure it's all good? Thanks again.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 09:19 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

I'd say make your USB key bootable (there are tutorials online to tell you how) or use a live cd to run a new version of memtest86+, it will take a little while but if you don't get a BSOD and the test completes without errors you should be fine. This is what I used to do and still do whenever building a new system (not installed in the case though, I run memtest on the components just laying flat on a table).
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 09:31 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

You can boot into windows before formating and reinstalling, its just all of your drivers including display will be screwy. But You can at least boot once to see if everything is working.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 01:59 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
I'd say make your USB key bootable (there are tutorials online to tell you how) or use a live cd to run a new version of memtest86+, it will take a little while but if you don't get a BSOD and the test completes without errors you should be fine. This is what I used to do and still do whenever building a new system (not installed in the case though, I run memtest on the components just laying flat on a table).
Boot from USB sounds a bit tricky? Well compared to creating a bootable CD? Or maybe not, just whenever I have to do anything in DOS flags come up for me - lol. I should tell you I am a graphic designer not an IT guru so I am still kinda n00bish (obviously).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
You can boot into windows before formating and reinstalling, its just all of your drivers including display will be screwy. But You can at least boot once to see if everything is working.
Hmmm so this is just inserting the XP disc and not formatting or installing but just booting from the disc? Might be the easiest thing to do. Anything else other than the bolded text that I should be cautious about?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 02:30 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Just download (I'm assuming you've got access to a computer) the Ubuntu iso (image file) and use something like nero or roxio (there are free programs available) to burn a cd ("from image").

When you boot from that CD you will be able to run memtest as well as booting into ubuntu (from the CD) to do rudimentary testing to see if it picks up things like nic and the like. You won't need to install anything to the hard drive.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 05:49 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Just download (I'm assuming you've got access to a computer) the Ubuntu iso (image file) and use something like nero or roxio (there are free programs available) to burn a cd ("from image").

When you boot from that CD you will be able to run memtest as well as booting into ubuntu (from the CD) to do rudimentary testing to see if it picks up things like nic and the like. You won't need to install anything to the hard drive.
Well that's exactly what I did and am posting from FF on Ubuntu from my cd right now. Thanks
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 10:04 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Well the M2N-E SLI is working just fine cuz that's what I am posting with right now from Ubuntu on CD. Don't know a single thing about Linux. Wish there was a built in sysinfo tool? I can see what CPU I am running but not the MB, except in the BIOS. Anyways this is cool me is happy. Now to see about the Gigabyte board!

__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes