Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 08:45 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 836

My System Specs

Default Fried CPU and/or MB = upgrade time!

Computer has been out of action for a couple of days now: No video display after switching out RAM

Wife suggested I just get a new MB AND CPU and since I'm way out of the loop in terms of components I figure here is a good place to ask.
Old CPU was an X2 550 unlocked to quad
Old MB was a GA-MA770T-UD3P
Other components listed in my profile on the right.

Keeping in mind a max budget of $250 and the other components I have (RAM compatibility is obviously a must) what CPU & MB combo do you recommend I order?
Will likely be ordering tomorrow some time to hopefully get it in on Tuesday next week.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 09:15 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

PM sent.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 09:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 202
Default

Sometimes you can get a good Core i3 2100 + motherboard deal on NCIX.

Kinda like this one here:

NCIX Bundle Deal Intel Core i3 2120 Unlocked Dual Core CPU & Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Motherboard - Bundle Deals - i3 2120&GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 09:27 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,253

My System Specs

Default

AMD A8-3870K APU, Black Edition 3.0GHz w/ 4MB Cache at Memory Express

Asus F1A75-M PRO/CSM w/ Dual DDR3 1866, 7.1 Audio, Gigabit Lan, PCI-E, CrossFireX at Memory Express
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 06:36 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 836

My System Specs

Default

Ended up ordering soullessone's X1100T along with this: ASUS M5A97 Evo ATX AM3+ DDR3 AMD 970 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI USB3.0 SATA3 GBLAN Motherboard - DirectCanada
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 07:31 AM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Grats on getting the CPU also nice price for the ASUS board.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2012, 05:19 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 836

My System Specs

Default

Guess it was the MB that was toast as I installed the new ASUS with the old cpu & it's running fine.
Still unlocks to a quad on the new board too.

X6 should arrive tomorrow anyway, so I'll install that then, but I was getting the no-BF3 jitters.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time to upgrade? BrianHanna Storage 1 September 26, 2011 02:00 PM
GPU Upgrade time Cptn Vortex Video Cards 15 August 20, 2010 07:24 PM
Upgrade time - what to keep?? Urotsukidoji New Builds 69 November 20, 2008 03:56 PM
It's time to upgrade... 3.0charlie New Builds 9 July 4, 2008 07:43 PM
time to upgrade monsterp CPU's and Motherboards 6 October 30, 2007 08:04 PM