Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 08:49 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 917

My System Specs

Default i7 2700K

I'm just curious what people think of these how are they for overclocking etc..

How do they compare to the very well spoken about 2500K or 2600K?

Thanks in advance for any feedback!
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 09:30 AM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

TBH save your money and get a 2600k. From what I have heard the 2700Ks don't overclock much higher at all they just have a faster set clock speed.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 09:47 AM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

^^ Agreed...I've heard the same thing. I'm not sure if it's true or not, but some people have mentioned the 2700K has a higher maximum multiplier than the 2600K. If true, this really isn't an issue unless you are going for some very extreme overclocks - for day-to-day use, the 2600K is a great chip.

Last edited by francisw19; February 16, 2012 at 09:47 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 12:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

Is max multiplier based on the chip or the board?

Because my 2600k had a max multi of 56 on a gigabyte p67a-ud4 but has no limit to it's multiplier on my EVGA z68 FTW.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 01:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibz View Post
Is max multiplier based on the chip or the board?

Because my 2600k had a max multi of 56 on a gigabyte p67a-ud4 but has no limit to it's multiplier on my EVGA z68 FTW.

both
sometimes you get higher multi with a mive
56x is a good cpu
many 2700x cant hit over 51
your cpu has a limit lol
max multi is what you can boot into windows with;)

2700ks are not better than 2600ks
unless you run stock
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 03:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,062

My System Specs

Default

Bottom line, it's still a crap shoot. If your goal is 4.8 GHz, 2600K or 2700K should get you there with reasonable volts.
Some folk on XS.org found early 2700K's to be worse than 2600K's, but they are pushing >51x multiplier.

FWIW my very early batch of 2600K (L040B purchased on launch date) OC's about the same as a late batch 2700K (3122C retail edge) -> 4.8 on 1.42ish volt, 5 GHz on 1.46ish volt with modest cooling (~80-85C on full load with LinX AVX). My 2700K actually runs a little bit cooler while require a slightly higher voltage (+0.1V)
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 03:49 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 917

My System Specs

Default

I ended up getting it currently have it at 4600

CPU-Z Shows = 1.42v
CORETEMP Shows = VID : 1.3611v

Temps with prime95 are about 75ish this is with an antec kuhler 920 - debating getting H100 to see how much difference it makes!

Are these temps and volts good?
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 03:51 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 469

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trayton View Post
I ended up getting it currently have it at 4600

CPU-Z Shows = 1.42v
CORETEMP Shows = VID : 1.3611v

Temps with prime95 are about 75ish this is with an antec kuhler 920 - debating getting H100 to see how much difference it makes!

Are these temps and volts good?
I cant quote on the 2700k exactlly, i have the little brother 2500k currently at 4.6ghz, 1.36v temps dont hit 60c with prime, on a hyper 212+..have done 9hrs stable on that...i wouldnt say yours are to bad at all, not spectacular,m whats the rest of your system?

Last edited by maverick_brent; February 17, 2012 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 03:57 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 917

My System Specs

Default

See my sig :) Also what speed you running at all i see is .6? :)
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2012, 04:40 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

If it's a good chip you should be able to get 4.6 at 1.35v depending on the board's Vdroop.

I find with Vdroop disable voltage can be so solid I've gotten utterly ridiculous clocks(5.5+ on 15c water).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 2700K & DP67BG trayton Price Check 1 February 16, 2012 08:59 AM
i7 2700k, 560 ti, and... noname2020x New Builds 10 December 29, 2011 10:51 AM
the 2700K unboxing please :3 Lyserberg LinusTechTips Q&A 11 December 25, 2011 02:19 PM
i7 2700K released yycraven CPU's and Motherboards 10 October 25, 2011 05:31 PM
Intel Leaks i7-2700K onethreehill CPU's and Motherboards 9 September 12, 2011 04:54 PM