Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 10:41 AM
Bohrman's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 76
Default Processor swap

Hey guys, i've been rocking an old pentium D for a couple of years now and i was wondering if a pentium e6600 would be a good replacement?

Advice appreciated
~Bohr
__________________

Check out my worklog:http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ct-aozora.html
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 10:46 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 710
Default

Do you have existing RAM & board? The P4 era 775 socket don't work with the C2D/C2Q CPU, as far as I know.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 12:23 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

You would need to know which board for sure. Since the 775's had 3 different power requirements in the sockets for the life of the Socket.
I would honestly say its not worth the time, and that I doubt it will work.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 02:58 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Well apprently if it used a Prescott, Cedar Mill, SmithField or Preslar Pentium D then it should, however, if you were using say DDR memory on the board, the Core 2 only use DDR2 far as I know, so this might prove an issue. Full support for the cpu would best be checked on the manufacturers website.

A Core 2 Quad would be the best option vs the dual, cause if it can work with a lower end say a core 2 Pentium, then it can work with the high end Core 2 or core 2 quad at least the vast majority of the time. Best dual core, Core 2 E7200 to E7600 or E8300 to E8600 and up, for the quads Q6400 to Q6700 or Q8200 to Q8400 or Q9300 to Q9650, the 8300 and up are the best choice or the Q9000 and up the best choice in regards to performance.

Conroe was the offical replacement for Pentium 4 and Pentium D, so if they use the same socket I am 99% sure they would work, as long as the memory used as well as the wattage/FSB lines up.

So, is it worth it, might be if you can get them cheap enough, but last time I checked about 6 months ago, to go from E8400 to Q9550 was like $320 whereas a brand new cpu that was faster then both by a good amount was $110 not including motherboard or memory. So this is up to you :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 05:46 PM
Bohrman's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 76
Default

Ok good to know, i have ddr2 and a board that seems to be able to handle newer 775 processors (asus p5n-e). Yeah i've been looking for the old core 2 quads but they're pricing is just ridiculous! Newegg.ca - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80580Q9505 for example. Maybe i'll just have to suck it up and go bargin hunting at ebay or a local store.

Thanks guys
__________________

Check out my worklog:http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ct-aozora.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 07:53 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Speaking as the owner of an ASUS P5N-E SLI, I can yes, it works with an E6600. I've been running one since 2007. It will support up to E8600, Q6600 and QX6850.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- CPU Support P5N-E SLI
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 07:58 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Dang core 2 quads at that price might as well upgrade to a 2500k. Yea try computer repair shops if you can sometimes they have forgotten parts they will sell for cheap.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLEASE help me decide: GPU swap mjpd1983 Video Cards 7 June 17, 2010 01:11 AM
hot swap question Patramix Storage 10 March 23, 2010 08:57 PM
Simple CPU Swap Vdub90 New Builds 9 December 5, 2009 07:26 PM
Motherboard Swap? tyreman CPU's and Motherboards 4 April 1, 2009 08:32 PM
Motherboard swap & FC5 Perrin49 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 January 31, 2007 03:10 PM