Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 03:47 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default 965 bottlenecking in BF3?

See system specs. Ignore the 5830, it's currently out of the system, and would only be in there for folding purposes anyways.

I tried running BF3 at Ultra, 1920x1200. Frame rates seemed a little low.
Is the problem my stock clocked Phenom II 965? I'm thinking it might be. If it is, I'm not in a position to switch over to Intel yet, but I can reduce BF3 settings to Very High if need be.

Anyone else running high end video cards and quad core phenoms who have run into this problem?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 05:06 PM
techman95's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

stock clocked you say? then hell yes just slap a good cooler say an nhd-14 or an h100 and overclock the snot out of it and the north bridge and you should be good. but then i do run an x6 so i have a whole 2 extra cores to schedule to, but overclocking it to around 4ghz should be sufficient. i remember reading an artical on toms hardware about the cpu usage in bf3 and the phenom2s were around 65-75%
__________________
Amd....definitely a blond female.....not much on the cpu side, but always strutting about showing off her gpus
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 08:14 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Yea OCing that 965 to 4ghz should be pretty easy. Not too sure about your cooler though may want to upgrade it. H80 in push pull and you can really push your cpu.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 08:21 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I've never checked my cpu usage during BF3, I'll remind myself to do so now in a few minutes

and yeah, with a good ASUS MB, OC that 965 to 4GHz if it can, and try for +2.8GHz NB for it can
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 08:53 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

PM me great big I might have some good coolers kicking around if you pay shipping I will send your way
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 07:42 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

When i had my 965 OC to 3.8, my CPU usage is 97-100% on all cores.

Went with a 1100T OC to 4.07, and my usage went down to around 85% on all 6 cores. My FPS on both CPU stayed the same. Give or take 5 more or so FPS on my 1100T.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 08:35 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Hmmmm, So far it's fine running skyrim on ultra and everything else just fine. BF3 is the only game so far where it's bottlenecking.

Problem with overclocking is that the chip isn't mine. It's a longterm loaner from a friend, and it's out of warranty. I'm not willing to risk overclocking it. If it was mine, I'd be all over that! I might just 'suffer' with BF3 at High for the next few monthes while I save my pennies to move over to an Ivy Bridge platform. Thanks for the inputs and the offers of coolers
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 08:43 AM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

I run my 965 @ 4.3 - 4.5ghz and it seems to run fine for me with my GTX580.

Just give it a small bump and see if it helps. You don't have to go with a crazy OC. I just see it as the sooner this chip goes, the quicker I can convince the wife I need to upgrade. :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 09:21 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

You really do not need some sick high end cooler.

I have a hyper 212+ with push/pull of the stock 76.8 cfm fan in a raven 3 case
4.2 clock 1.43v on a 955BE C3
Temps idle 28-32.5c temps loaded(BF3-Skyrim-WoT) 42-47c(depends on warm room :P)
These coolers can be had for like $30 the extra fan for like $8 or so, if your cpu will not do its max stabile speed with this cooler, the only thing the higher end ones will do is get slightly better loaded temps(5c or so they seem to be good to 55c or below, above that they start to lose stability) and maybe a few Mhz more clock speed, but the likely hood is you would be running into the need a ton of extra voltage for the small gain type thing, in other words, the cpu just runs out of what it can do.

Now I am not saying those coolers are bad, but I will say they are overpriced for what they can give you in return compared to some lower cost offerings.
H50/60 with push/pull get some wicked good performance and a much less $ then a H100(which is different if you are using intel 6 core or FX 8 core chips)
CPU/NB will do 2600-2900 for Phenom II x4 rarely will it hit 2900, the average seems to be ~2800 at best

Also, just to say it, take some time to adjust the ingame settings for the card, if you are using the ULTRA preset, you are not getting the best the card can offer, and are giving it things that it doesnt like to use.
for the main settings Ultra should be fine, for the extras
post process/defered off or High MSAA 2x tops, MSAA is a poor running type of AA for AMD cards(currently) the 7k cards is a little different
HBAO/SBAO your choice, but is a performance hog as well.

Probably is just the cpu not feeding it well enough.
Little trick, take the base speed of your memory,multiply by 3x, this is what cpu/nb should run at minimum ddr3 1600 is 800 base=2400 cpu/nb or IMC should run at
HT should be left as close to default speeds as possible which is 2000Mhz with your cpu. +/- 2000 is fine, but the cpu was designed to run this at 2000 otherwise it starts to increase latency on it to combat higher speeds. I take it as, its plenty fast enough a 2ghz speeds why increase the chance of performance loss/instability in regards to the HT link.

955/965 usually will hit ~4-4.2Ghz+ 1.4-1.45v(good aircooling reported safe to 1.5v loaded) There is alot you can do to help it, such as using LLC or upping the cpu VDDA a notch or 2(do not go to high on this chip could go snap!) the cpu/nb r IMC has the same voltage limitations as the cpu base voltage, however, I have seen multiple times, never make this run at a higher voltage then the cpu is running at, you have a good chance of damaging the IMC if you do. 1.35v or less is plenty for cpu/nb. Mine at 2750 or less needs 1.3v or less cpu/nb the cpu needs 1.431 volts in bios windows reports as 1.43v

---edit, give it a small bump, you really do not need to go crazy lik one of the others stated, stock is 3.4 you should be able to hit 3.6-3.8 with little to no extra voltage required. Just check cpu-z see what it reports for the current voltage, set the voltage to that manually, and up the cpu multiplier/ratio untill it doesnt like it anymore, usually around 3.6+you need a touch extra juice, 4.0+ a fair amount more 4.2+ tons more, AMD has stated with rev c2/c3 1.45 and 1.43 v is 100% acceptable, so, some chips will do better with this then others, obviously, and truth be told, 1.4v will not kill that cpu anymore then CnQ would :P

Last edited by Dragonstongue; February 10, 2012 at 09:26 AM. Reason: added something
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2012, 09:46 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

That has to be the most informative, in depth cpu specific overclocking post I have ever seen. Thanks!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to check if bottlenecking taimoorali007 New Builds 10 December 24, 2011 01:43 AM
it would seem my computer is bottlenecking Japeart CPU's and Motherboards 13 December 8, 2011 01:04 PM
system bottlenecking ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 7 October 31, 2011 03:32 PM
Bottlenecking JJThomp Video Cards 6 February 7, 2011 11:01 PM
BottleNecking? Chromey Video Cards 10 April 6, 2009 05:36 PM