Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 10:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Unhappy Hardware Failure? AutoRestart...

Spec:
i7-950
Asus Sabertooth X58
1800MHz 4GB RAM Kingston Hyper X Genesis
750w(Cheap PSU for $40, This is not the problem as it would be causing restart on stock BIOS settings)
1TB HDD
Evga GT 220
Haf 912

OC:
4GHz(4008MHz 24x167)
CPU Vcore 1.34v
HTT On
RAM @ 1667MHz
QPI 1.29v
RAM Vcore 1.64v

What's causing the restart?

Note: This is not a OverHeating problem!!!

BTW this been happening for a month now...

I been searching on google and some people with same spec or so said that they RMA the PSU and it's not the PSU as it occurs again... What im think that is causing the problem is my motherboard... Should I RMA it or call them about it? Im getting Random Restart... I posted something the same at tomshardware.com(Go to google and search "OC Fail? Random Auto-Restart..." without quote) but no one is helping me, at first I tho it was OC that was failing, now it's not as it's restarting on stock clock....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2012, 10:59 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Do you have another PSU you can use to test like even a 500W,just to make sure.
and for it being a month now why did you wait this long to find out the problem,just asking.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 07:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default

It took a month because I was seeing what's the problem, I turned off OC and it havent happen for 2-3 days than after that it started coming up/happening on stock clock so it's not my OC, i'll try but it's ganna be hard to get a PSU to test it since my PSU is all zip tie and my bro's PSU is zip tied too...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 03:12 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Do me a favor, unplug your power and reset switches from your mobo.
just yank the wires off.

if not do everything you can to lower the computers watts use or get a different psu from somewhere and try that for a bit.

as well do a full once over on the computer and clean all heat sinks, check everything for bad caps, and clean all components in the system,check to see if anything is overheating~ blocked fans etc.

as quick once over with memtest and the like might be in order as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD failure? TimTheEnchanter Troubleshooting 18 April 27, 2011 05:35 PM
HDD failure or Motherboard failure? Polygon Troubleshooting 3 December 4, 2010 09:48 PM
Board or CPU Failure? Soultribunal Troubleshooting 10 November 2, 2010 12:59 PM
WC failure martin_metal_88 Water Cooling 32 April 27, 2009 07:06 AM