Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 07:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
Default New Build

Currently I am running a AMD 64 3200+ 2x6300's and a GIG of 3200 memory.

What I would like to build next is a decent gaming system while sticking with AMD and Nvidia cards. First thing I have looked into is power supplies, just wondering if a 550-600W p/s would be enough to run everything I want to have in it? Any suggested motherboard/cpu combos would be welcome. SATA slots, not sure if I want to go SLI as I think a single 8800 would do enough for me. Decent on board sound (5.1) and LAN is a must, though most of the boards have LAN as standard.......let me know what you think. Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 07:51 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

If you want to purchase soemthing from AMD, I'd buy one of their video cards sooner that a CPU- their video cards are very competative (maybe a 3870 fer ya)
also, if you want the option to run multiple video cards, there are more options for Crossfire than SLI- you must buy an Nvidia chipset to run SLI. Also giving us your budget is helpful when asking for recommendations.

and yes, a PSU of 550 to 600 would be fine if you're not running SLI- make asure it's a decent one though
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 08:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
Default

Well, price is not really an issue when it comes to my builds. Though I would like to get the best bang for the buck and try and stay under $1000. I only build or upgrade every few years and only when there is really something on the market worth upgrading for...like Call of Duty 4 or Crysis. Here's what I have so far:

Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
AMD Phenom 9500 2.2GHz
2 GIGS DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz
Asus EN8800GT/G/HTDP/512M GeForce 8800GT
Enermax Infiniti EIN650AWT 650W p/s
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 08:26 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Are you going to overclock? Are you dead set on AMD cpu, and NVidia GPU?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 08:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
Default

No, not really interested in overclocking and I have always had a AMD and Nvidia. I just like both of their product line I suppose. Why? What did you have in mind for suggestions? I've always just figured you get more from AMD for your $ than INTEL.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 08:38 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto area.
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyJunky View Post
I've always just figured you get more from AMD for your $ than INTEL.
That used to be the case when the A64's rules supreme. Currently, Intel has a sizable advantage when it comes to bang for the buck, in my opinion.

Instead of the Phenom CPU you have listed, I would consider an Intel Q6600 (quad core 2.4ghz, $275.00). You can easily overclock it in excess of 3ghz, if desired.
__________________
Q6600@3.2ghz
Asus P5N32-E Sli
4gb OCZ Platinum DDR2 @1100mhz
Antec P180
BFG GTX 260 Core 216
Corsair HX-620
Thermaltake Power Express 250W
Raptor150, WD 500gb. WD 300GB
X-Fi Extreme Music
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 08:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DurkaDurka View Post
That used to be the case when the A64's rules supreme. Currently, Intel has a sizable advantage when it comes to bang for the buck, in my opinion.

Instead of the Phenom CPU you have listed, I would consider an Intel Q6600 (quad core 2.4ghz, $275.00). You can easily overclock it in excess of 3ghz, if desired.
What would be a decent mobo if the Q6600 was what I wanted to get? I'd still like to stick with a Nvidia based vid card and be able to have decent memory options.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 08:53 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto area.
Posts: 170
Default

I am partial to Asus boards, I would probably choose something like this: Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Asus P5K-Premium WiFi-AP Socket 775 Intel P35 ICH9R Chipset Dual-Channel DDR2 1066/800/667Mhz Dual GigaLAN 2x PCIe x16 eSATA/SATA 3.0Gb/s Firewire 10x USB 2.0. Asus P5K premium.
__________________
Q6600@3.2ghz
Asus P5N32-E Sli
4gb OCZ Platinum DDR2 @1100mhz
Antec P180
BFG GTX 260 Core 216
Corsair HX-620
Thermaltake Power Express 250W
Raptor150, WD 500gb. WD 300GB
X-Fi Extreme Music
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 09:13 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

if you are getting the Q6600 then I would recommend the
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Gigabyte

it is cheap and they have an open box for even cheaper.
Also I can overclock my Q6600 to 3.4ghz with that board.

Durka's P5K board is better but double the cost. It is up to you.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 09:33 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yes- at the moment, intel is definitely ahead in the CPU department, while the ATI division (now owned by AMD) is producing some great products, so if you have some loyalty to them or want to support the underdog, their video cards are a better choice than the AMD CPUs right now.

Here's a great deal on a PSU also:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...056&quantity=1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build a new rig newmill CPU's and Motherboards 32 November 12, 2007 06:37 PM
First build. l0ck Troubleshooting 15 July 25, 2007 04:24 AM
New build -Yes it's fun... Il Duce CPU's and Motherboards 15 July 8, 2007 07:57 PM
New Build and soon to go buy neurobashing CPU's and Motherboards 10 June 20, 2007 09:23 AM
My first ever build, help me out paolo CPU's and Motherboards 31 June 9, 2007 04:04 AM