Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2008, 11:34 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default xeon

ok dont laugh u beer drinking ass grabbing canucks. can i put a server xion in a desktop and run it very very fast??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2008, 12:10 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Lol. Yes you can, it is the same as the 8000 series equivalent.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2008, 12:20 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I'm running a Xeon 3210 quadcore in my Asus Maximus board right now. Overclocks like a dream!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 05:45 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

crazy i didnt kno that or else i would have gotten a batch of 10 quads 3.2 i believe from a friend. lol
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 06:28 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

well go get them from your friend, see if he still has them.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 07:11 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

sold them to a computer store for $500 for all 10
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 07:23 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid-X View Post
sold them to a computer store for $500 for all 10

do you know which xeon chips where they.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 07:24 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

Xeon 2667DP/512/533/ 1.50V SL73M
or 2 @3.06GHz / SL6GH / 533MHz-FSB / 512KB L2 or
2 @ Intel 2.8GHz MP Xeon 2800MP/2ML3/400 CPU
whats the better deal?? and better choice. looking to put one in mt lg775 socket asus board if it will fit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 07:25 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid-X View Post
Xeon 2667DP/512/533/ 1.50V SL73M
or 2 @3.06GHz / SL6GH / 533MHz-FSB / 512KB L2 or
2 @ Intel 2.8GHz MP Xeon 2800MP/2ML3/400 CPU
whats the better deal?? and better choice. looking to put one in mt lg775 socket asus board if it will fit
if i get the 2 units imma sell one they are all under $120 bucks
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 10:56 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Those CPUS would not work. They are MP, meaning Multiprocessor. Right now you should only be looking for 3000 series Xeon chips, as they are the only ones that would work in certain S775 systems.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xeon Workstation Build TOBoiDan CPU's and Motherboards 6 February 8, 2008 10:35 AM
C2D vs Quad vs Xeon enaberif CPU's and Motherboards 9 August 9, 2007 10:40 PM
Is this a good deal on a Xeon X3220? r00tman CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 11, 2007 08:13 PM
What's the difference between Q6600 and Xeon 3220? r00tman CPU's and Motherboards 13 June 21, 2007 05:41 PM