Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2011, 07:03 AM
Avenger212's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

If your going SSD route and don't want the best just price to performance ration. I would gladly recommend Corsair Force 3 120g or Corsair GT 120g, It is good for the price/performance ratio that it offers. But note its not really the best SSD but it will do the job just fine. Personally as the I5 2500K is just another improved quad-core so I say either stick with you current set up and chuck in a SSD or go and get the Thurban. I got the 1100T after the failure of the bulldozer and I already wasted a lot of money upgrading to get it.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2011, 09:07 AM
neojjjk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ind/Can
Posts: 203

My System Specs

Default

you have a beautiful cpu .Tryto get a motherboard with new features.also you can buy a intel SSD .
Newegg.ca - Intel 510 Series (Elm Crest) SSDSC2MH120A2K5 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2011, 10:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,450

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
I'm going to start over because I didn't realize you already had a 955 x4.

Spend the 500 bux on a nice SSD and then let us know if you don't like your comuter anymore. Get the crucial M4 and you'll be like.. I should have done this ages ago. You might want to consider the Crosshair V mobo if you really wanna kick it up a notch.

I know you have your heart set on the drive above i'm afraid you'll regret purchasing that particular drive.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2011, 11:31 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,631

My System Specs

Default

Not that I don't appreciate the recommendations, but I find it funny how everyone's recommending a SSD that's twice as expensive as what I plan to buy...

Nah I won't get a new AM3 motherboard. It's either all or nothing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2011, 12:52 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

For what you intend on doing, I can't see why your current setup is inadequate. Especially since you're aiming to game less. I have a 955 too, albeit on a DDR3 board and I've yet to really 'want' more power.

If I were in your shoes, I'd stay put, save for an SSD.

The TRIM command is not passed through AMD boards below the 8xx series; if you aim to get an SSD without upgrading to an AM3 8xx/9xx or Intel platrform, you may need to perform 'Tony TRIM' on a regular basis with certain SSD controllers. But the 'snappiness' gained is quite noticeable.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2011, 04:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,384

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Not that I don't appreciate the recommendations, but I find it funny how everyone's recommending a SSD that's twice as expensive as what I plan to buy...

Nah I won't get a new AM3 motherboard. It's either all or nothing.
Because it is faster and less likely to cause you problems. Also SSD's can bog down without trim and the program someone mentioned will seriously affect your SSD's life span.

At the end of the day your computer is fine and you really don't need to upgrade it but if you must get the crucial m4 you will be happy you did not all SSD's are created equal AKG recommends the m4 and he is an expert.

You can price match this to NCIX
Crucial Technology 128GB m4 SSD 2.5" Solid CT128M4SSD2 B&H

P.S for SCII an i5 2500k will greatly improve your framerates but if they are fine the way they are now there is no point in upgrading.

Last edited by JJThomp; December 10, 2011 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to replace my Atom 230... Dr_BenD_over HTPC Systems & Software 3 October 21, 2011 10:38 AM
Looking to replace Tri-SLI GTX280 setup need advice. FrankyG Video Cards 17 September 24, 2010 10:42 PM
Replace HDD? Hunt Storage 11 February 15, 2010 12:33 PM
Replace GPU sticker... mattlef Off Topic 4 September 28, 2009 08:43 PM
Replace my 7800gtx sli setup with a single 9800gt? recklessftw Video Cards 5 August 16, 2009 08:43 PM