Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2011, 12:30 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

I think you would notice a difference by upgrading the motherboard and the RAM, though.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2011, 04:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,920

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
I think you would notice a difference by upgrading the motherboard and the RAM, though.

I don't think its as big of a change as you are making it out to be. ddr2 to ddr3 is <5% difference if I recall correctly (I believe it was a ddr2 1066 vs ddr3 1333 comparison and most tests were within 1 to 3 %). I will try to find the review.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2011, 04:44 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
I don't think its as big of a change as you are making it out to be. ddr2 to ddr3 is <5% difference if I recall correctly (I believe it was a ddr2 1066 vs ddr3 1333 comparison and most tests were within 1 to 3 %). I will try to find the review.
The price/performance is definitely not worth it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 08:22 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

Is this a good SSD to upgrade to?

OCZ 120 GB Vertex Plus Series SATA II 2.5" SSD : Memory & Memory Upgrades | Dell Canada
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 10:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

I run the 1090t but then I use apps that can use multiple cores and it's the cheaper option. Running games and apps and apps and apps isn't a problem for this cpu. You'll have zero issue with Great Big Abyss' recommedation. Look at the comparison chart very closely to what YOU are using the computer for. The 1100 6 core isn't that far behind the i5 for a fraction of the cost and 2 more cores.

All 4 of these are good it's your price point that is your concern.

i5 @ 230 dollars 4core @ 3.3ghz 6meg cache
amd 965 130 dollars 4core @ 3.4ghz 8meg cache
amd 980 170 dollars 4core @ 3.7ghz 8meg cache
1100t 205 dollars 6core @ 3.3ghz 9meg cache

Either way you'll have a decent computer it's just a money thing right?

500 bux you can get 965 $130 + mobo 130ish + crucial M4 SSD 128 gig 220 dollars = 500 dollars.

If you think the SSD won't help your crazy... it's the single greatest upgrade you can make.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.

Last edited by clshades; December 9, 2011 at 10:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 10:54 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
The one you are looking at has a lot of issues right now too apparently.

Crucial m4 is the ONLY SSD you wanna buy right now imo.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.

Last edited by clshades; December 9, 2011 at 11:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 03:47 PM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 255

My System Specs

Default

You"ve got the itch!!
Take something apart that"s working perfectly fine and try to make it better...we"re all with you.
Don"t forget; the cpu, mobo, memory are going to bring in some coin so you might be able to up your budget a bit and go Intel + SSD
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 07:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

Look whos selling a 6 core for 140 bux. Best deal you'll find and he won't screw you around.

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...dom-stuff.html
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 10:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
Default

I've always like Intel's SSDs. Several friends of mine have used them and never had a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2011, 05:45 AM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

If all you play, or what you mostly play is SC2, then you really don't need to upgrade to thuban. SC2 only uses 2 cores if I remember correctly, and multitasking will see nothing from the extra cores.

I'd upgrade to an SSD, and that case to be honest. Not something too crazy, but something a little better.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to replace my Atom 230... Dr_BenD_over HTPC Systems & Software 3 October 21, 2011 09:38 AM
Looking to replace Tri-SLI GTX280 setup need advice. FrankyG Video Cards 17 September 24, 2010 09:42 PM
Replace HDD? Hunt Storage 11 February 15, 2010 11:33 AM
Replace GPU sticker... mattlef Off Topic 4 September 28, 2009 07:43 PM
Replace my 7800gtx sli setup with a single 9800gt? recklessftw Video Cards 5 August 16, 2009 07:43 PM