Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 12:11 AM
ptys27's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Exclamation 6 cores or 4 cores for gaming

Hi, I want to upgrade my pc for Christmas, so I decided to buy 16gb of ram, Intel i5 2500k 4 cores, and motherboard , link to that :
eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace
but i thought maybe games in the future will use 6 cores, so I will have to upgrade again , so I could buy Phenom II 1100t 6cores instead of i5 2500k 4 cores

1 option
eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace
2 option
eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace
+
eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

which one would be the best for me?

Patryk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 12:19 AM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

2500K will be better than an 1100T in almost any scenario.
__________________
Please note: I am not here to provide official NCIX support on these forums.

For faster (and official) NCIX service please contact our customer care team at www.NCIX.com (Canada) or www.NCIXUS.com (USA)

Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 12:47 AM
ptys27's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linus View Post
2500K will be better than an 1100T in almost any scenario.
Thanks for answer
ps. I ur youtube channel :PP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 02:10 AM
ptys27's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

I have another question, which RAM would be better, patriot included with i5 2500k or Kingston in 2 option ?

Patryk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 08:33 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 470
Default

Both are cl9, 1600 kingston being the higher speed but 1.65v. Maybe try to find some G.Skill cl9 1600 at 1.5v.

Like this 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 1600MHX DDR3 (4711148596725) | eBay
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2011, 07:53 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,679

My System Specs

Default

BTW, 16 GB ram is overkill still.

I have 6 GB and never have issues running many, many things at the same time as games(mw3, BF3) so 8GB should be good for a few years at least.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 to 4 to 3 cores Wurmer CPU's and Motherboards 2 April 15, 2010 06:15 PM
AMD 12 cores Wi-Fuzzy Rumor Mill 40 April 9, 2010 07:50 PM
F@H only uses 2 out of 16 cores whited HardwareCanucks F@H Team 20 March 12, 2010 02:54 PM
AMD = 12 Cores Para_Franck Rumor Mill 28 July 16, 2008 11:27 PM
8 Intel cores faster than 16 AMD cores? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 0 May 24, 2007 06:54 AM