Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 02:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default Why this CPU wont work on my mobo?

Hi
I bought a brand new Intel Pentium Dual Core E5700 3.0ghz to replace my old Intel Pentium Dual Core E2140 1.6ghz, but if I put the E5700, it wont boot, the PC just starts including fans, video card, hard-drive, DVD-RW, but I get yellow led at screen, so the screen is black(system wont boot), but if I put back the old 2140, it works. From what I founded out from Asus site my mobo is compatible with E5700 but only with the BIOS updated to the latest version which I have(0214), so I dont know what might be the problem. I confirm that the CPU is functional, I tested it on my cousin`s pc


HERE MY SPECS IT MIGHT HELP YOU:

power suply: ANS ATX450W P4
mobo: asus p5ld2-x/1333
ram: 2.5gb ddr2
video card: asus nvidia 8500gt 256mb ddr3
hdd: 160gb WD 7200rpm/sata
DVD-RW: Asus DRW-1814 blt
tv tunner: TV-PVR 878

please help me :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 02:42 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

P5LD2-X/1333
BIOS version: 0212 Support new CPUs. what bios version your at now ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 02:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
P5LD2-X/1333
BIOS version: 0212 Support new CPUs. what bios version your at now ?
I also said above, 0214
__________________
if a man would rule the world and lose his soul.....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 02:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

You didn't mention if you did a cmos reset after replacing the cpu... that might do the trick.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 02:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
You didn't mention if you did a cmos reset after replacing the cpu... that might do the trick.
i did it, many times actually, it didnt work
__________________
if a man would rule the world and lose his soul.....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 03:57 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

You positive the new BIOS took? Sounds 100% like incompatible chip to me. I have had to redo a BIOS update because the flash didn't take and the original one remained. Only happened once to me in the 100 or so boards I've flashed but you never know. Also you might want to pull the battery and leave the CMOS jumper on CLEAR for a half hour or so just to make sure it has cleared completely.

The only things I can think of, very bizarre.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 04:15 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deiu99 View Post
i did it, many times actually, it didnt work
forgot to read manual. page 6 sec 2.3, its not showing Wolfdale core as supported on ypur MB
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 04:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

Remove the tuner, one stick of ram and make sure you have the CPU power cable attached properly. Sometimes bare minimums helps.


The E5700 is compatible with the 0212 BIOS, straight from Asus website. The manual is probably outdated.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 04:27 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

The manual would only have the chips that were supported at the time of the printing and with the original BIOS which did not support the e5700.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 02:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

so, the motherboard should work with my new cpu, the bios flashed succesfully and I can see in bios version 0214.
I tried everything:
-I removed the tv tuner
-I removed one ram, than the other one, lefting just one I have a 2gb and a 512 one
-I changed the supply
-I tryied with another video card
-I did cmos(by removing battery and with jumper)
-I even tried to flash bios with just the mouse and keyboard and monitor plugged in

but nothing........... :(
__________________
if a man would rule the world and lose his soul.....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attempt #10 to get work failed, and no other work to do. LaughingCrow HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 5, 2010 09:29 AM
Mobo ethernet port isn't work... =( do I need to RMA? feerof Troubleshooting 10 May 3, 2010 02:39 PM
PC wont work after sleep mode? SadisticMonkey O/S's, Drivers & General Software 21 October 16, 2009 02:12 PM
FS-s939 X2-3800, OCZ ram, Ac Freezer 64 Pro, ASRock mobo, DFI mobo, Asus mobo..more stoanee Buy/Sell & Trade 14 June 7, 2008 07:24 PM
Help games wont start or work well! mailaw Gaming 2 September 2, 2007 06:10 PM