Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 07:48 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default 1055T vs 965

A friend of mine is replacing his server processor with an FX8150.

He's offered to GIVE me his existing X6 1055 Thuban. I currently have a Phenom II 965.

Here's what I do with my computer:

Watch HD media
Game: Civ V, BF3, Skyrim, DAII, etc.
Fold: smc protocol

My concern is that the 1055 is only clocked at 2.8GHZ, while my 965 is clocked at 3.4GHZ and that I'll lose low-threaded performance (most of my games).

What do you think? Take the free processor, or say No Thanks.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 07:53 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,253

My System Specs

Default

Take 1055 & give it to me!

Seriously though, take 1055 & overclock it!
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 07:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,582
Default

you can overclock that 1055t -easily- to at least 3.6, moderately to 3.9-4.0 and a little more if you're lucky. It will boost your folding performance and I think Civ V is multithreaded?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 08:03 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

I can always try the 1055, try overclocking it, and if I'm not happy with it, just put my 965 back in. So far the 965 is a fantastic processor.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 08:53 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,582
Default

..and then sell it to me :D
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 09:56 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,407

My System Specs

Default

I would take it, you might not notice any difference until you start multi tasking . I have a 955be and updated to a 1100T and I notice that when I multitask ( which I do quiet allot) I get very very little studder, as it is with my 1100 I can fold and play Skyrim at the same time, mind you my folding goes from 1600ppd to 1200 while gaming but that is ok, I would not have been able to do both without some huge studders also I wouldn't be able to fold bigadv.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 10:06 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

can you fold bigadv with a 6-core thuban?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 10:14 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,253

My System Specs

Default

If I recall correctly, in the future you will need 16 cores to fold bigadv.

Changes to BIG ADV
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 10:35 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,596

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I wouldn't be able to fold bigadv.
so somebody is going under the radar with bigadv in linux on the Thuban!
Yes you can, but under Linux only, basically the folding client is fooled into believing your machine has 8 threads. Provided you have a 6 core Thuban at at least 3.8 GHz and you fold 24/7 you can nail -bigadv. Guide is here [Ubuntu] A Linux N00B's Guide to Running -bigadv (and big -bigadv) on x6 and 2500k But it might be too late for that now, not even 8 threads machines are getting bigadv lately. However I am pretty sure this workaround will be reused to allow 12 threads machines to get bigadv, as a lot of people with capable hardware are pissed by the hardware requirements change after January 16 2012.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 10:51 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,631

My System Specs

Default

Just stop Folding... I'll probably stop soon. Hydro bill is too expensive, and it doesn't seem to be making much benefits anymore. Never did actually... But I'm sure if I searched around on Stanford's site I'll find articles on how much progress Folding has made.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with 1055t cbr1100xx Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 October 28, 2010 03:35 PM
SMP folding on a 1055t Caldezar HardwareCanucks F@H Team 32 September 13, 2010 05:54 PM
1055T X6 only 2 cores! Black_Ice-Dragon CPU's and Motherboards 19 July 4, 2010 07:05 PM
AMD 955 or 1055T? jcmaz CPU's and Motherboards 7 May 17, 2010 08:55 AM