Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2011, 06:19 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

For anyone wondering how much difference there is between dual and quad channel memory on the RIVE I just did some testing. I was curious to see if running some fast mem in dual channel may exceed quad.

5Ghz 16GB quad channel 6m59.656s
5Ghz 16GB dual channel 7m05.319s

With close to a 6s difference you would have to have a very poor quad kit to exceed perf in dual channel. Not a huge difference for a 24/7 system but for benching 6s is quite a bit.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 03:16 AM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Not in PPC's pocket.
Posts: 540

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Koolance' block is probably the best looking motherboard block I've ever seen.

I would have to agree. I am still waffling about going X79 tho...
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2011, 04:28 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Donko. Might make a small difference for a 24/7 folder too.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 07:56 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

BIOS 1005 (updated PCIe codes for improved compatibility with some GPUs)
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 06:25 AM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

hey sorry for coming out of the dark and resurrecting a fairly old review thread but i really want to pick this board up and i have a question about it. i have never dealt with an e-atx before. will it work in a fairly large atx case (i have a coolermaster ammo 533) in terms of mounting and the backplate/io panel lining up? what about the storm trooper? that is listed for xl-atx or something (seems there is no real set standard for larger boards?). any info would be greatly appreciated, and thanks for the awesome review.
__________________
nothing left and nothing right
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 12:11 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Standard ATX size is 12 x 9.6 inches, E-ATX is 12 x 10.7, and XL-ATX is 13.5 x 10.3 inches. If your current case has room for an extra inch of motherboard at the front, you may have to move some standoffs to mount the board. Any case that is XL-ATX sized should fit an E-ATX with room to spare. The I/O panel is in the same location for all 3 sizes.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 12:14 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

SJ said about everything that needs to be said there. Thx for the comment
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0m View Post
thanks for the awesome review.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 04:11 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Is it the same size as my X58 Evga Classified 759 (with NF200) Board? Thinking of getting this Board for my X79 upgrade!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 05:38 PM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

thanks SugarJ :)
__________________
nothing left and nothing right
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2012, 08:41 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

FYI Rampage IV Gene has been released
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS ROG Rampage III Extreme Motherboard Preview Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 33 October 16, 2010 09:56 PM
ASUS Maximus III Extreme Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 9 April 13, 2010 05:19 PM
ASUS Rampage II Gene LGA1366 mATX Motherboard Review Comment Thread 3oh6 CPU's and Motherboards 22 February 12, 2010 08:34 PM
ASUS Rampage Formula Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 17 August 25, 2008 04:35 PM