Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:17 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default Task Manager - which logical cpus are hyperthreads

so ya, bit of a stupid question...but in the task manager where you see eight logical cpus, which of them are the hyperthreads? its been bugging me to know
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:25 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Every second one to my knowledge.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 01:30 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

I'm pretty sure the first 4 are the real cores and the last 4 are the logical cores... that way if an operating system supported fewer CPUs than were available in the system, it would see the physical cores first before seeing the logical cores.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 03:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

*sigh* two contradicting answers :(
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 04:18 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Yup..I don't know for sure, but that's how it's always seemed when I look at task manager. Hopefully somebody has a definite answer.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 05:03 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
Every second one to my knowledge.
As far as I know this is the good answer. Unless Microsoft changed it.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2011, 05:29 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

I don't know for sure either... Windows 2000 pro can only see two cores so it made sense for them to be real cores as opposed to one real and one logical. I believe Intel requested that this be implement in the bios of mobo's when the first hyperthreaded P4's came out. Whether that ever happened or not or whether it still is the case today I don't know...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logical Increments PC Buying Guide Iceman New Builds 8 February 6, 2013 04:10 PM
Priority in task manager Lamb HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 December 15, 2009 07:48 AM
next logical choice muffler Video Cards 13 April 8, 2009 08:28 AM
weird issue with task manager the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 4 May 25, 2008 01:49 PM
Tweaking Task Manager Prof. Dr. Silver Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 February 6, 2008 10:13 PM