Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 02:39 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default Faildozer Why Have you Failed Me (With Pix Added New Pix Nov9.2011)

Okay so once again The Beta team has thrown me a new computer and I am here to show how it compares to the old on stock, single card and crossfire as well as overclocking the shit outa it.
Detailed scores

3DMark Score
19033 3DMarks
Graphics Score
19087
CPU Score
18874


Above is stock System specs are
AMD FX 8150
Asus Crosshair V Formula
Asus CuII 6970 2GB
8GB DDR3 2000 Patriot Running at 1333 for stock tests
V100 SSD 128GB Kingston
7 Pro 64 Bit
Thermaltake Chaser Case
all stock cooling and settings

Tonight we overclock and switch to water cooling

Below is the system I had for testing before Loved this system it never failed me and ran like perfect.

AMD 1090T at 4Ghz
Asus Crosshair IV Formula
2x 6870 Sapphire 1GB DDR5
8GB DDR3 2000 Patriot Ram running at 2000
V100 128 SSD Kingston
7 Pro 64 Bit
Thermaltake Chaser Case
Noctua 14D cooler
Custom Ram cooling fans
Custom GPU Vram Coolers hidden under stock cooling bezel.

3DMark Score
24393 3DMarks
Graphics Score
26280
CPU Score
20069

As you can see stock The FX-8150 and 6970 Get Rocked by the slightly over clocked 1090T and dual 6870's but tonight we water cool and clock the crap out of the systems.

Oh and don't ever and I repeat EVER use the Asus Driver packs on their CD for the GPU, Couldnt run a bench mark or anything with them even upgraded had to completely remove them than everything worked perfect can even play Fallout New Vegas maxed on 3 LCD's again.

Tonight I will send pix of the build and upgrade to water cooling monster.

Thanks for listening Chiiildren!!

Last edited by Soullessone21; November 9, 2011 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 03:00 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,507

My System Specs

Default

Look at the HUGE difference in the GPU score compared to the less than 1500 point difference in the CPU score. Video card got rocked, not the CPU.......

More like fail benchmarking why did you not test with identical systems.....
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 03:04 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

haha sorry about that, The reason I dont test with identical systems is most the time our Beta team takes back the old parts right after we are done but on the two systems I listed, I was given them from our team to keep only issue is I only have one nice case so I had to swap it all out to test.

I was just pointing out how at stock the 6970 and 8150 just do not compare to my older CHEAP system. But even that system was smashed by our intel test team, Those 2600K are amazing!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 03:06 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Wow looking over some of my Vantage scores I notice that this 2600k with only a 4.4 OC and the same asus 6970DCII GFX card pulls in 25k
Thats stock clocks on the 6970 they now sit at 950 24/7
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 03:23 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Tonight the water cooling system goes in, its a dual Rad and res setup, Wanted to know should I put the 2nd rad after the CPU but before the GPU or after the GPU but run it like.

Pump with built in rad and Res
to
CPU
To
2nd Res
to
GPU
to
Dual 2nd Rad
Back to the start

Or

Pump with built in rad and res
to
CPU
to
Res #2 and Rad #2
to
GPU
back to the start
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 05:53 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,382

My System Specs

Default

if it was myself and depending on the normal temperature difference of the GPU and CPU I probably would run two separate loops because I would think that the GPU would heat up the water allot when you over clock the cpu. mind you I have never ran two separate loops yet
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 07:02 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the advise but a dual loop is not a option as I already have the lot and have maxed out my budget just wanted to know how I should set it up.

Thanks again for the advise I have lots of thinking to do
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 08:35 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Does anyone know of a good water block for the Asus 6970 CUII as the one they sent me does not fit at all?

But now my CPU has more then enough cooling.
I will be adding 3 more fans to complete the push pull on my second rad just have to wait for them to show up.

Is there anything I should change before adding coolant ?



Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 09:19 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Gotta admit, you're fairly brave using a Thermatake TR Power supply.
AS for the Cards Waterblock, I'm not 100% if ASUS uses a Reference design on there card, because they place there own higher quality components on these cards. Which means they probably changed the design slightly (not 100% though).

Give ASUS tech support a quick shout and see if they are reference or not.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 09:29 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

It's a completely different Design non Reference.

The Reason I have this system is we do Repairs for Asus Systems and they asked me to build a watercooling system with the above specs and get it to work as they could not find a solution themselves as our head Component Guru quit Asus to teach about 2 months ago so if you don't speak TW your SOL.

In the West Coast Asus has been setting up a lot of small repair Depots as of late, I was lucky enough to get trained by them and do all in store repairs. Only issue is I mostly work on macs so Asus sends us test systems like my two above ones to test and break:P and fix again so we can fix customer systems better.

Oh and Soul Can you PM me again with what you need in that system as last night I found more then a few Pentium D systems in Storage and tons beyond tons of Core 2 Duos and Core 2 Quads. What is it exactly you need the computer for?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have you ever failed? ADay2Long Off Topic 26 April 12, 2011 04:50 AM
System fan has failed mgunteruga Troubleshooting 7 April 2, 2011 02:32 PM
did emt failed? CTA Off Topic 15 August 19, 2010 08:43 PM
System Fan Failed Scripter Troubleshooting 7 May 20, 2010 08:07 AM
RAID just failed miggs78 Storage 17 December 23, 2009 12:06 PM