Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 01:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 169
Default Best value AMD setup?

What is the best value AMD CPU and motherboard setup at the moment? I intend to add a Radeon 6950 to it and play Battlefield 3, but most of the time this computer will be used for office related work and media encoding.

I heard that Battlefield 3 isn't CPU intensive so I don't need the best CPU as the GPU will handle it. I do intend to overclock it though.

I already have the Corsair Vengeance Blue 16GB 4X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 RAM. The motherboard needs to be able to not only accept 4 modules of RAM, but also be able to give me a decent overclock with it. I don't need the top of the line motherboard, but one that offers good value and decent overclocking potential.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 02:46 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

IMO the best bang 4 buck CPU will be a 1090T (which goes slightly cheaper than the 1100T, and has about the same OC potential).
And you can get a very modestly priced Asus M4A87TD/USB3 or a Gigabyte 870A-UD3.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 10:29 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 317

My System Specs

Default

955 BE is a better choice then the 6 core 1090T imo. $60 cheaper too, for identical performance in gaming. You might be able to squeeze out a tad more O/C with the 1090T, but if you want the most budget CPU, then go with the 955 BE.
AnandTech - Bench - CPU

The motherboards GT7R suggested are the best bets for surely. Good luck!
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 12:42 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

yeah, you definitely don't need the 6 core thuban chip for games. THe pehnom II will be more than adequate for a value gaming scenario. The 955BE with a nice little overclock and the 6950, will be quite nice methinks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 04:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 444

My System Specs

Default

I myself just finished pricing the 6 core and quad core Phenom II, a calculator really comes in handy for $/Ghz :P.

Although the 6 core, tend to oc a hair better then thier 4 core brothers, and are a hair faster in benchmarking, encoding etc, it is a useless expence for the moment, when the 4core Phenom II such as the 955 or 965 are very good gaming processors, a game such as BF3 shows very little to no difference with a highly clocked 1090/1100T or 965/980 Phenom II, some games do, but they really are few and far between.

I went with 955BE C3 revision(less volts needed, and slightly cooler with slightly better OC potential
Hyper 212+ with push pull of the stock blademaster 120fan
M5A99X EVO motherboard, yes its more $, but it also has some of the best OC potential with lowest volts of any currently available am3 or am3+ motherboards
G. Skill Ripjaw XDDR3 CL9 1866, 9,10,9,28 1.5v memory
and of course an SSD in my case OCZ Agility 3 60Gb with firmware 1.13.

As for the chip, I got it to just under 4.1Ghz, memory running 1872Mhz, HT running auto, CPU/NB 2550+Mhz
The voltages are 1.368v cpu, HT stock voltage, NB 1.16v, memory 1.5v, this was accomplished in maybe 10mins times, a couple reboots to stabilize voltage levels etc, and yes LLC is enabled and set to ASUS auto, and EXTREME preset, 110% calibration on CPU and CPU/NB, honestly, it was very very easy, even to run it at stock it was quite fast.

It runs like a champ, and in my raven 3, playing everything I have, the cpu according to HWinfo and other temp programs, has never went above 42c even in my very warm room.

In BF3 with some settings medium, some on high, AA disabled, AF 4x, I average 48FPS and min 35FPS MAX 72FPS, this is with Cat 11.10 WHQL, and Radoen 6870 at 965 core 1135memory speeds.

Last edited by Dragonstongue; November 4, 2011 at 04:30 PM. Reason: Added a few lines
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 07:04 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Actually -- and quite surprisingly -- I recently came across an article examining scaling and discovered that a six-core can have advantages over a four-core in gaming, if the GPU's not the bottleneck and if the CPU can't overpower the game with its first few cores.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...e,2793-10.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 11:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT7R View Post
IMO the best bang 4 buck CPU will be a 1090T (which goes slightly cheaper than the 1100T, and has about the same OC potential).
And you can get a very modestly priced Asus M4A87TD/USB3 or a Gigabyte 870A-UD3.
Either of those boards going to support Bulldozer base processors?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 03:17 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apathetik View Post
955 BE is a better choice then the 6 core 1090T imo. $60 cheaper too, for identical performance in gaming. You might be able to squeeze out a tad more O/C with the 1090T, but if you want the most budget CPU, then go with the 955 BE.
Oh, probably didn't read the whole post properly , if it's going to be just gaming, then of course a 955/965 and a used 975/980 will do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquare View Post
Either of those boards going to support Bulldozer base processors?
No, but you can be sure that the chips listed above will outperform the base Bulldozers.

Edit: If you still want an AM3+ board, here you go:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS M5A87
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT7R View Post
Oh, probably didn't read the whole post properly , if it's going to be just gaming, then of course a 955/965 and a used 975/980 will do.



No, but you can be sure that the chips listed above will outperform the base Bulldozers.

Edit: If you still want an AM3+ board, here you go:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS M5A87
I thought the 990 is the newest AMD chipset? Why would you recommend an 870 chipset over the 990?

What's the difference between the M5A87 and the ASUS M5A97?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 01:33 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquare View Post
I thought the 990 is the newest AMD chipset? Why would you recommend an 870 chipset over the 990?

What's the difference between the M5A87 and the ASUS M5A97?
The 990FX chipset supports the Bulldozer CPUs, other than that there's no difference. The model you selected is great but as you've mentioned budget, I've suggested you the cheaper options which are not a bit worse (assuming you won't go BD).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F@H setup wesamess HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 May 6, 2011 10:55 AM
HFM setup matsta31 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 January 24, 2010 10:36 AM
[WTT] My LGA775 DDR3 setup for your AM2+/AM3 setup Realityshift Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 12, 2009 06:17 PM
New Setup and Rig s_8ball Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 May 13, 2008 07:11 PM
which is a better 4gb setup? Jamz RAM 4 April 11, 2008 08:58 AM