Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 15, 2011, 07:41 PM
Rookie

Default Please help me choose Motherboard

Hi,

I am putting together a desktop with 12 monitors ( Dell 24 inch ) using Three ATI FirePro 2460 Graphics Cards. Each card supports 4 Monitors.

I need a motherboard with Three PCIe x16 slots for those 3 Graphics cards.

Would any of following motherboards support them ?

ASUS P8Z68-V

ASUS P8Z68-V Pro

Asus P8P67-PRO ( B3 Revision )

If not can you please suggest one or two that will have 3, PCIe x16 slots ?

Thank You
Old October 15, 2011, 08:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

the z68-v pro will work just fine, but you'll need a case with 8 PCI expansion slots.
Old October 15, 2011, 09:20 PM
Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
the z68-v pro will work just fine, but you'll need a case with 8 PCI expansion slots.
I am a layman when it comes to hardware but :

Someone said following & thus it has only 2 PCIe x16 slots.

The problem is actually a bit more technical. The third PCI-E slot on these boards does not even go through the same controller.

The first two slots are controlled by the CPU directly. The third slot is controlled by the chipset, P67 or Z68 depending on the board.

I don't know what it means & should I look for another board ? If yes, any suggestions.

Thanks
Old October 16, 2011, 07:09 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by emini View Post
I am a layman when it comes to hardware but :

Someone said following & thus it has only 2 PCIe x16 slots.

The problem is actually a bit more technical. The third PCI-E slot on these boards does not even go through the same controller.

The first two slots are controlled by the CPU directly. The third slot is controlled by the chipset, P67 or Z68 depending on the board.

I don't know what it means & should I look for another board ? If yes, any suggestions.

Thanks