Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 06:22 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default AMD 960T sees the light of day as a retail chip

Not that this CPU is anything really special, but with the possibility of unlocking to a hex core 3ghz I am sure there will be takers at $130.

Available now at newegg.ca
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 08:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,474

My System Specs

Default

I read somewhere the Asrock had a batch of 16 and only 6 unlocked to hexacore. I don't think you would like to bet on one out of 3 chances to get it unlocked. Go for sure with an X6. and given the fact that the difference between this and the 1090T is 30$ alone, guess what will most people buy? I, for sure I am getting a 1090T. Because otherwise is more expensive than a regular quad core BE, clocked even higher.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 08:56 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
I read somewhere the Asrock had a batch of 16 and only 6 unlocked to hexacore. I don't think you would like to bet on one out of 3 chances to get it unlocked. Go for sure with an X6. and given the fact that the difference between this and the 1090T is 30$ alone, guess what will most people buy? I, for sure I am getting a 1090T. Because otherwise is more expensive than a regular quad core BE, clocked even higher.
But do you need a hexcore? That is the question. Most users don't even need anything faster than a dual core like a Core i3. I'd probably just get the 960T because I don't really have a need for anything more than a quad core, aside from Folding@Home.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 09:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
I read somewhere the Asrock had a batch of 16 and only 6 unlocked to hexacore. I don't think you would like to bet on one out of 3 chances to get it unlocked. Go for sure with an X6. and given the fact that the difference between this and the 1090T is 30$ alone, guess what will most people buy? I, for sure I am getting a 1090T. Because otherwise is more expensive than a regular quad core BE, clocked even higher.
Agreed. Curious to see if thuban with 2 disabled cores is more/less efficient and what kind of OC they could get (more for curiosity than interest), vs deneb.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 11:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,474

My System Specs

Default

don't think so, is the same architecture
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2011, 06:02 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Well I just ordered one for my game server (see system specs below). It already has an unlocked chip in it so we will see if I can get a hexacore out of this.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2011, 07:44 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Well so far the unlock isn't working properly but I didn't have much of a chance to tweak it. I unlocked it and it reads as a AMD 6 core CPU in the bios and from UBCD I ran some tests and they all passed but when I tried to boot into Windows it would crash. Going to fool around with it some more tomorrow and see what I can do. As a quad core it is nice, it turbo-boosts up to 3.4Ghz and runs really cool (runs 1 degree above ambient with cool and quiet turned on at ideal).
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2011, 08:13 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

You'll probably need to bump up the voltage to get it stable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2011, 04:45 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Tried that, all the way up to 1.4 at least. Going to try a few more things before calling it a day.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2011, 05:07 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I would try up to 1.45 if you have good cooling.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] GPU for light gaming kanadien Buy/Sell & Trade 2 March 29, 2011 10:08 AM
NVIDIA GTX 460 768MB Sees Price Drop FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 21 September 13, 2010 11:03 AM
AMD Cancels Retail Phenom II X4 960T Thuban Quad Core Processors geokilla Press Releases & Tech News 17 May 13, 2010 10:08 PM
Microsoft sees end of Windows era Killswitch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 29 August 12, 2008 02:30 PM
xp sees no riad array Jim Troubleshooting 4 March 31, 2007 06:06 PM