Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 12:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default HELP!! I Need somebody!

Does anyone know of a motherboard that can support SLi on AM3+ with hdmi onboard. HELP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 12:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Posts: 69

My System Specs

Default

Pretty sure AMD boards don't support SLI. Someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 12:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flemminr View Post
Pretty sure AMD boards don't support SLI. Someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
Your wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 12:29 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

How do you know he's wrong? If you know he's wrong, then you know the answer to your question already.

I'm pretty sure I've seen some AM3 SLI motherboards before.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 12:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

lol ya if you already know he's wrong...

it USED to be that amd boards did not support SLI

i believe the new chipset design works with SLI now though

just have to check the specs on motherboards
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 01:03 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

Almost all AM3+ boards support SLI, and any nvidia chipset amd boards do as well.
That being said, just look at 990fx boards and try to find one that has hdmi out, but why do you need onboard hdmi? if you're going to be running sli..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 02:33 PM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

This seems to be the best bang for the buck board
Canada Computers | Motherboards | Asus Sabertooth 990FX Socket AM3+ AMD990FX/SB950 Chipset Dual Channel DDR3 2000(O.C.)/1866/1800/1600/1333/1066 MHz 4x PCI Express 2.0 x16 Slots 8-Channel HD Audio GigaLAN 6x SATA 6Gb/s+2x SATA 3Gb/s 4x USB 3.0 ATX
I have the R.O.G. Crosshair V but they are a little buggie and a pain to get set up,
The Sabertooth is the way to go.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 02:46 PM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
but why do you need onboard hdmi? if you're going to be running sli..
Yeh it seems a little pointless.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 04:34 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

I have not heard of any motherboards that have HDMI output onboard.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 04:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,507

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSiG View Post
Does anyone know of a motherboard that can support SLi on AM3+ with hdmi onboard. HELP
if we are talking about the AMD series 9 chipset family, there is nothing with onboard video like the 880G/GX. The chipset versions are only 970, 990X and 990FX. No onboard video for AM3+ series 9 chipset.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes